We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cindy the best and great food”
Review of Cortez Kitchen

Cortez Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Cortez
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Was hesitant after seeing a few bad reviews. Server Cindy was terrific. Six of us all had something different and all very pleased with selection: grilled grouper, raw oysters, fried oysters, dinner salad with grilled chicken, pink shrimp dinner and for me the pink shrimp appetizer...8 very large grilled in shell shrimp with drawn butter for dipping. Everything superb. Started with cream cheese poppers and conch fritters, also excellent. The singers, 5 minus 3 gave us perfect music for sing along and a jig around the floor.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank millers1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 500 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2018

loud !!!!!! got frozen mushy srhrimp ...manager complained that we were telling him in front of other people .will never go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 15, 2018

I chose the seafood platter. The seafood was fresh, but was very greasy. It would have been better if the fish had been properly deep fried. The fresh oysters were good, as well as the calamari, however, the calamari was also greasy. The proportions were good sized, but the price took care of the larger portions. The cheesy grits were excellent and the best I have ever tasted! It was a chilly day and the waitresses were dressed in winter coats and hats, so the atmosphere was not conducive to pleasant dining atmosphere. Heaters were provided, so the use of winter hats, etc, was a bit overstated. I wanted to try the restaurant for some time now, but will probably not return.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lottiew210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 14, 2018

This funky little restaurant is a great place to come in good weather, but you are basically sitting outside so avoid it on a cold day. It is fun to sit here and watch the boats come in and crates of seafood being moved about. You feel you are part of a fisherman's life. We had the fried shrimp this visit. Our sides included good grits with cheese, yummy fried okra and a mediocre dish of macaroni and cheese. Happy hour here is a hit with the locals, who all arrive at 4 p.m. to partake of beer, wine and well drinks. This place is Old Florida at its best.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

We decided to try this place again, as we hadn't been here in a few years, (not because it was a horrible experience the 1st time, it was because we never thought about it). Anyway, I got the stuffed blue crab shells and my husband got a steamer meal. And they both were amazingly delicious. Best stuff crab shell I ever had. My husband was almost upset that he was too full to continue eating. Give this place a shot. It's pretty much an outdoor restaurant but has tarps they pull down when it's chilly. I can not wait to go back now and eat more stuffed crab shells....

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Benannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Cortez Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Cortez Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.