We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice people, no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend to get away from the NY cold. Booked with points but as I recall the prices on the web site were far lower than some reviews indicate, so YMMV.
Parking cost was definitely high but it's Miami - what're you gonna do. The neighborhood is alright, quick close to the Miracle Mile and a decent amount of good restaurants in the area.
Room was clean, bed was comfy. Water pressure is not great but not as bad as parts of L.A.
All the staff was really friendly and accommodating.
The pool is a bit small-ish for such a large property but it's in an attractive setting.
Had breakfast buffet both Saturday and Sunday, it was $18 including drinks (coffee, fresh O.J., espresso drinks). Wasn't very extensive but what they had was pretty good.
Between parking and 2 breakfasts (for 2 people) our weekend incidentals added up to about $140, so caveat emptor.
If you can get a reasonable price on this one I recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for a day/night this weekend waiting out some flight delays. Its a very nice property thought its not cheap really (value for the money is just ok).

Location. Very good. Its a 5 min walk to the Miracle Mile for shops/restaurants, which we enjoyed. Its in a nice neighborhood which was quite safe, and its also a 10 minute ride to the MIA airport, which was our concern leaving early.

Ambiance. Decor inside is very nice and upscale, and the restaurant was both good and not absurdly priced. Its not a new property but its been renovated clearly. Service at the front desk and concierge was also excellent!

The gym was modern and functional. The pool area was pretty darn good for a business hotel. It was large (on 5th floor), with lots of pool chairs and a bar area for drinks/food, and a small hot tub. The kids spent the whole afternoon out here by the pool.

Rooms. We had a large room with a king bed and queen sized fold-out couch that fit 2 kids comfortably. The mini fridge came in useful as well. Bathroom was spotless and the shower was comfortable. Not fancy but it does the trick, for sure.

Sleep Quality. The beds were excellent — clearly fairly new. Firm but soft, with many pillow choices.

Definitely recommended if you want to be in the Coral Gables area — or near the airport but not in an area full of gun stores and pawn shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I arrived at the hotel after a long trip from Boston that got us in to the hotel hours later than anticipated. Imagine how surprised we were to learn that our room was "not ready" at midnight. After 20 minutes we were led to a room that stunk of cigarette smoke (on a nonsmoking floor), cat urine and an air spray that tried to disguise the odors. We told the front desk this was unacceptable. They sent us to another room, where we waited outside the door for another 20 minutes. This room was a lovely suite. But why didn't they just give this to us when we first checked in?? After a very mediocre breakfast the next day, we checked out a day early. The day manager was lovely and after hearing of our bad experience, said she would reverse the charge for the previous night's stay. However, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Povie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Good Evening Povie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback from your past stay at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. I am so sorry to hear not only about the delayed check in process that late in the evening but also the quality of your guest room. I am happy to hear that hotel was able to move you to a much better room but I completely understand your frustration. I hope we are able to make your next visit to the Hyatt a much better experience. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department for any assistance.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables before and after a cruise out of Miami. It proved to be a satisfying choice on most fronts. The hotel is well maintained and very comfortable. The location, handy to the bars and restaurants on the Miracle Mile, is a major asset.

Knowing what this hotel is and isn't helps one appreciate it. First off, it's definitely not a resort. The pool is attractive and functional, but not much more, with a vestigial hot tub and a sauna the size of a broom closet. As a city hotel, the in-house restaurant is basically a breakfast-room afterthought (okay if breakfast is included in the room; expensive otherwise. Don't even think about it for other meals). As an older property, the bathrooms, while nicely renovated, are smallish and basic.

But the lobby is graciously elegant, the staff are professional, and as a base to explore the Miami area, the Hyatt Regency is a welcoming home.

Room Tip: Some courtyard rooms can be loud on weekends if there is a wedding or other large function.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElMusaferain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

et me start out by saying I stay at aLOT of hotels. This one was beautiful with valet parking 27$ a day or self park 20$ day. I know that's pretty standard for Miami but...when you are paying $300+ a night seems kind of lousy .we had a pretty standard room even at that price. 2 beds (not even queen size). The room looked about the same as my standard Hampton inn just more expensive and no coffee in the lobby or free breakfast. We had this lovely patio that we had to SHARE with 2 other rooms. And on the night we were there a loud wedding was outside our window until after 10:30. The pool was perfect and the gym was nice the HOT TUB however was smaller than the one in my backyard. There was no shuttle but they hailed cabs frequently. So for two night stay with the parking it cost 663$...ouch

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommalisa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel in general is nice and the location is great. Rooms were a little outdated, but clean and the bed was comfortable. Air conditioning could have been a little quieter, but unfortunately most of the hotels seem to no longer maintain the units as they can. Based on location and room I could have moved over to 4 stars maybe, but two items bugged me.
One: During check up we asked for some recommendations for a nice dinner in walking distance. The hostess pulled out a sheet/map and in glowing terms recommended two restaurants. We walked to both only to find out that both were bars not restaurants and very very noisy (one offered a seat at the bar, the other one was already overflowing and had 3 police officers outside for crowd and sidewalk control. After a long flight we were looking for a sit down dinner/nice place, not a crowded bar. As we had mention this to the hostess, it was a big disappointment.
Two: The hotel charges enough money for the rooms and food. And I understand the mini bar is a money maker. But pls, do they have to charge 6 Dollar plus tax (or 7.09 total) for a bottle of water. Most hotels at least offer a vending machine on each floor, but this one not even that. Ice yes, but that's it. I hate to be nickel and dimed but this is highway robbery.

Room Tip: watch out for extra charges.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcto20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great location, near MM and restaurants. Easy to downtown Miami. What you would expect from a Hyatt, clean rooms, pool, and exercise room. Has a old world hotel feel, but is very comfortable. Breakfast buffet is also good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Hotel St. Michel
#6 of 12 in Coral Gables
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plz, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5204
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range: $135 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing