We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel with many problems desperate need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The hotel with many problems desperate need of renovation”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was rated 9 plus by Priceline users but we can't figure out why. It's an old Hyatt business hotel that is in need of renovation. The rooms were smelly and moldy and the mattresses and sofa bed very uncomfortable. The hair dryer was missing from the room, the air conditioner did not work properly and the shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor. Parking is very difficult and far from the rooms and is $18 per day self parking, $24 per day valet. There are no immediate restaurants or good stab lishment to eat close to the hotel, several blocks walking. This hotel is also buried in the heart of Coral Gables with lots of traffic and congestion. A much better choice would be the South Beach area or even one of the nice hotels by the airport.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that your experience at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables failed to meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies that the air conditioner was not working properly and that shower was leaking.

Feel free to contact a member of our Guest Services team at 1-800-323-7249 for further assistance.

Julie B--Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    480
    159
    79
    39
See reviews for
290
371
71
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Unimpressive service, and overrated food. They also had a hard time keeping towels at the pool. The first room I got smelled like a pool house. They did move my room though. The only thing going for this place is the location, and they are good at apologizing for mistakes.

Room Tip: Make sure it doesn't smell like damp and nasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfrinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent a night at this hotel with my wife and I must say, from the valet attendants to the front desk receptionist to the overnight manager (who had to bring us a few extra towels late that evening), the service and friendliness of the staff (something not often experienced here in South Florida) was exceptional. Moreover, our suite had plenty of space to stretch out (spacious bathroom as well). My only regret was not being able to stay an extra night...
You won't be disappointed here. Nuff said.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanPerezFilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi DanPerezFilms,

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. It is great to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed your time as our guest. Our employees will be recognized for offering exceptional service. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to southern Florida.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed for work, I did enjoy of comfortable meeting rooms, delicious coffee breaks and excellent catering. In the evening I enjoyed the spacious room that features a very comfortable bed. The hotel is very well located, just 20 to 30 minutes from Miami International Airport. The staff is frindly and helpfull.

Room Tip: For a few dollars more, reserve a small suite, it's worth paying a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Eloisa O,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the amenities offered at our hotel. Our employees will be recognized for exceeding your expectations by providing you with expert service. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We were met by Lydia Young at the front desk and she took very good care of us. The room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the city. A short walk from the hotel are highly rated restaurants to satisfy any taste.
The architecture and rooms are Moroccan style and every detail is on point. We can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latinspice69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I’m delighted to hear that Lydia was able to provide you with such excellent service. I’m glad you enjoyed view from your balcony and found the room to be tastefully decorated. We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next trip to Coral Gables.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very average property. The hotel is fairly old and even though parts of it have been updated, the rooms and lobby feel very dated. If you want to use minibar, you have to ask the reception for a key and the room service options are poor. The part that I couldn't stand is how slow the internet is - if you offer such a high priced product, I would expect speeds faster than dial-up!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tom101cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel. I stayed for work; so i didnt get to enjoy all the amenities, however the pool looked awesome. Beds were very comfortable and the room looked clean. The fitness area was decent; i mostly used the treadmill.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PatB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us with your wonderful feedback. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found your room to be well appointed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 11 in Coral Gables
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Property: Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Address: 50 Alhambra Plz, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5204
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing