We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Real Deal Says Very Nice for Business Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The Real Deal Says Very Nice for Business Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went here on a business trip and it was perfect for just that. For vacation this is not the hotel for you. The first room I checked into was big with a plastic covered Murphy bed. Once I got a nicer room with a real bed it was very comfortable. Beds are great, the restaurant is good the pool is perfect for laps and nicely heated in February. The workout room is very small and it is a $35 cab ride to the beach. The people are good although the front desk could use some better training since I am a Platinum member and asked for an upgrade and a quiet room and got a Murphy bed on the first room and 8 feet from the ice machine on the second. Familiarity with your own hotel is a good training exercise.. Other than that it is a good place for a conference etc. A side note the cuban restaurant around the corner is horrible.called The LAs Vegas. The Chicken was very dry the ropa vieja was stringy and tasteless. I love Cuban food and look forward to having it whenever in Miami. Find another place to eat.

Room Tip: The rooms and bathrooms on the upgrade are quite nice and worth it. Be aware of the ice machine at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    449
    150
    76
    37
See reviews for
279
349
69
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just got back from a 3 day conference held at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. While an older property, the hotel was an excellent place to hold a conference. All the conference facilities were very close to the lodging. Many different conference room sizes. The food for breakfast and lunch was fresh and plentiful. The staff, conference, front desk and house keeping all went beyond the call of duty, extremely polite and friendly. The hotel was in a great location with many restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. I visit alot of conference locations, and I very much enjoyed the comfort of this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1LkyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I really appreciate that you took the time to provide such wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. I’m pleased that you found the conference facilities to be excellent. I’ll be sure to share your kind words about the staff and their terrific service with our management team. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in a Terrace Suite for 3 nights at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables on a recent business trip. Despite a few service blunders, overall the room was spacious, the hotel was well located, and I would return.

The Terrace Suite was almost a one bedroom suite except for the 2 open doorways between the bedroom and living room--with the air/heat controls and vent located in the corner of the living room. To me, a true one bedoom suite has doors completely separating the bedroom from the living room, so this didn't qualify--as was apparent when I had a friend crash with me and sleep in the pullout sofabed in the living room. The outdoor terrace was spacious, but was VERY dirty, both the floor and windows looking like they hadn't been washed in months if not years. The bath was reasonably spacious, though the toilet area didn't have a door to separate it again.

We had a huge service blunder our first morning when the concierge woke us up at 8:30 am Sunday morning, calling to indicate he would deliver us the NY Times. Then he actually knocked on the door and delivered it 10 minutes later. We had a do not disturb sign on the door. I was outraged.

I spoke with a manager who helped rectify the situation, giving me free room service breakfast for the duration of my stay as compensation for the error. She also helped when housekeeping never came to clean the room later that same day.

The hotel is well located for business in downtown Miami or nearby Coconut Grove, without being in the craziness. There are nice restaurants within walking distance. But if you are looking for a tourist locale, this isn't likely to be it.

Overall, I would consider returning to this property were the rate again appropriate for the room/service I received.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice elegant hotel. Nice big rooms , great service. The staff is very nice and they are willing to help all the time. Rooms are elegant, big and really clean. The hotel is very near the best malls, 15 min from best malls and restaurants. My best experience in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Rosy32:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments about our nice & helpful employees. Hyatt takes great pride with this, and they will be recognized for their efforts. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Hyatt Regency in Coral Gables is a very nice hotel in a great location. It is within walking distance of Miracle Mile and minutes (driving) from Miami International Airport, Marlins stadium, Dolphin Mall. The hotel itself was lovely and the staff was very professional and helpful. The valet service was great. We had our own car and parked in the garage ($12 per night). The pool area is also very nice with plenty of chairs, towels and a hot tub. The only not so great thing about the pool area was that it was blocked by the sun in the afternoon because of how tall the hotel and surrounding buildings are. The hotel is in a safe location and we were out walking at night to and from Miracle Mile without any problems or fear for our safety. Overall it was a great stay and we will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfaith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed an evening at this top notch hotel. Couldn't believe how comfortable this place is. Very quiet. Great beds. Terrific valet service. I even enjoyed a live R&B concert in an adjoining park! Stay here if you travel to South Florida!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and our comfortable Hyatt Grand beds. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our valet staff. We hope to hear from you soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

great hotel, easy to find, and lots of great restaurants to walk to. Starbucks too. Pool was very nice, and not very crowded. I travelled alone, and felt fine walking the streets for dinner and going out in the day.

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: 633 is spacious and a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated! It’s exciting to hear that you had an incredible experience at our property. I’m glad that you found the location to be very convenient and the pool to very nice. Thank you for sharing you recent experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Property: Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing