We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel & location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good hotel & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good place to stay in Coral Gables. The hotel is close to Miracle Mile Road where you can find a good mix of restaurants and shops.

Rooms are spacious, clean and dated but one think that really bothered us was the noise made by the housekeeping staff every morning. The 2 housekeepers were constantly chatting while cleaning shouting at each other from one room to another. It was very disturbing.
The bed was too soft for my liking.

Parking available for 16$/night - in and out privileges. 10 min drive to the airport and 15 min drive to downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    423
    142
    69
    34
See reviews for
262
325
66
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. We checked in around 8 p.m. and got a pool facing king room. The view was fabulous. The room was very nicely decorated and gave a royal feeling. I had got a steal from priceline for this hotel and it was actually way above in standard than what I paid :-). We had a problem with the heater, it was not working, but one call to the front desk and it was taken care of immediately. We had our dinner and next days lunch in the restaurant downstairs. The food is good and it's not overpriced. The only thing I feel could've been better is that the self-parking charge could be waived or at least reduced.

Room Tip: The pool view room has an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Amit B:

Thank you for going into detail about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the comfort of your pool-view room. It's great to hear that our Front Desk were able to assist with someone fixing the heating element right away. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the area!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice place tu stay in Coral Gables, good restaurant, walking distance from business area and shopping, with the style and elegance of Coral Gables.

I stayed for business, looked like many of the people there were also for business porpuse but it's also a nice hotel to visit with your couple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agilito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent 3 night here over Christmas with my family. Spectacular service especially when factoring in the employees having to work during the holidays. Would be 5 stars except for the dated rooms, which while functional seemed very generic and tired.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the smoothies were made to order with fresh fruit.

Parking is a bit steep but the valet was always very quick and one can look for on street parking if they choose.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the terrace rooms, so you can relax while over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Wow, what a glowing review I would have given this Hyatt, was already telling my husband through out the evening how we'd found our spot to stay in the Miami area. Guess again! We have to hit the road in the morning and here I lay at half past midnight with a DANCE CLUB PUMPING AWAY IN MY ROOM way up on the 14th floor. SERIOUSLY. Two calls to the front desk have produced two different people denying any knowledge of the extremely loud music penetrating the rooms, all I've asked for is to tell me what time it stops, MN? 1AM? 2AM? just give me a straight answer so I can at least know there is some chance of sleep tonight in sight. For $250-300+ per night I think a noise disclosure would be the appropriate and honest way for the hotel to handle this situation. Partiers can choose to stay here if they want to, those of us that need to sleep could be given the information to make a better choice for ourselves. Is that too much to ask, Hyatt you have my $270, I certainly don't have any of the sleep I need and thought I was paying for a CHANCE to get :(
So mad, thought I was going to love this place, boo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazeyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear mazeyday:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. I'm sorry I wasn't able to further assist you, personally. I would like to discuss in detail what happened. Please feel free to call us at the hotel, as we would like to help you out. We appreciate your comments, and look forward to a future opportunity to speak with you.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is your regular large corporate chain hotel, and we didn't have any issues. A large group of us came for a wedding, and it was a great place to stay. It's not near the beach, so you will need a rental car or a cab. The pool bartender told us that taxi's won't take you to the nature reserve because they're not allowed, but they can take you to South Beach. However, the ride can take anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour in traffic. We didn't go, so I can't say if this is true. However, it is only a 15 minute drive from Vizcaya Gardens which is definitely a must-see if you like beautiful old mansions and immaculate fantasy-like gardens. There is also a nice shopping mall nearby that a few of our friends went to, but which I didn't go to myself. It is walking distance from the Miracle Mile, which isn't that much of a miracle, but has some restaurants on it. The Millers Ale House has awful food but Thursday is Ladies Night, so drinks are free. Ponce de Leon Blvd also has some nice restaurants on it and is in walking distance.

The hotel itself has a very large pool that is situated in such a way to maximize direct sunlight for optimal tanning. There were always plenty of chairs for everyone. There was never any crazy "party" crowd there, so it was peaceful. The mango smoothie at the pool was pretty good too. The rooms look pretty recently renovated, in a neutral, almost Moorish Mediterranean style. The A/C is very powerful though, and we had to turn ours off because it was freezing. The windows to our room couldn't open, so we couldn't let the cold air out either. The lobby of the hotel is also always really cold (as were most of the places we visited around Miami).

The hotel restaurant is ok, nothing special, and a little on the expensive side. For a cheaper breakfast, there is a coffee shop around the corner on Galiano St called Pasion del Cielo with great little empanadas and good coffee.

Our only negatives would be that the key cards were finnicky (you have to swipe fast!), and room service didn't come the second day, which was interesting. Normally even if they don't change the sheets, they at least make up the bed and arrange the bathroom towels and toiletries.

Room Tip: If you go, try to get a room on the 5th or 6th floor with a terrace or balcony. The 7th floor didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litlhafgost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Like no other Hyatt I have visited, this property had its highs and lows. We loved the location in the heart of Coral Gables and could walk to interesting restaurants and coffee shops. The Miracle mile is just 3 blocks and an easy walk. Basically a Cuban area with lots of atmosphere. Ask the hotel for the name of great little Italiian restaurant about a 6 block walk....heavily patronized by locals and very good. Great little coffee shop across from dog park with 100% Blue Mountain Coffee in you want to pay an extra chage...well worth it.

We stayed on the 14th floor in a very unusual suite. 40' ceilings and very European in feel. Not fancy but but so funky it had charm. Only $45.00 upgrade charge over basic room rate and very quiet in December 2012.

We had two small dogs ( extra charge) and the little dog park across the street very useful and well equiped.

Recommend highly the Mojitos by Sara in lobby bar. Exceptional!! Staff overall very friendly. Not enthusiatic about hotel food...go outside on surrounding streets for meals.

Room Tip: Well, out of season the rooms with little balconies over the pool looked nice but would be noisey in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susieflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Property: Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
Address: 50 Alhambra Plz, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing