We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing food, Fab service, Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
Ranked #4 of 324 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Fab service, Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Popped in on a lunchtime during the week with my wife just for a quick beer (it being a hot day and all that!!) and ended up staying for lunch. Sat at the bar (a wonderful large and long bar, perfect for people watching, meeting new friends and catching the full buzz of a restaurant in full swing!) and was greeted with a friendly yet efficient service that recommended drinks. Straight off the bat it was impossible to ignore the great atmosphere of this place, it was only 12:20 and the place was already almost full and by the time we left there was a queue waiting for seat! Having ogled the plates of food being handed out to other diners we decided to give it a go ourselves. I chose the French beef sandwich with gravy dip and my wife chose the sashimi - Simple food, exquisitely delivered.

Definitely coming back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    194
    46
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south miami, florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Treat for Mother's Day !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Being taken out by my family for Mother's Day, a treat! My first choices, Yuga and Christy's in the Gables, both closed. Strange...None of the four of us had eaten at Hillstone so we decided to try it. A 20ish minute wait. Not bad. Sat at a very little bar-area table, ordered drinks and asked how we'll know when our table is ready.. and was told they note and remember where everyone is sitting and will come to you to lead you to your dinner table. It worked!

So nice to have truly lovely service from everyone, from the hostess to the several servers. Appetizers, dinners were excellent. We all shared an Asian steak salad resembling a small mountain, a couple fresh yummy and not the usual tempura fried coconut shrimp hosomaki rolls that came with an excellent remoulade dip as well as a spicy mayo dip. We nibbled on soft and cheesy bread slices, a very fresh tasting Cesar salad, an excellent well seasoned prime rib and a tremendous excellent veggie burger. Finished with one nice sized very creamy piece of Key Lime pie with four forks. A little pricy but lovely, good value, pleasant atmosphere Noisy when we walked in but after that we had no trouble talking to each other at our very comfortable booth.. Would like to go back and sample other noms.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
“Party of 8 really loved our meals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I can't imagine anyone not finding something on the this menu to eat. In our party of 8, we got 3 filet mignons (which were very good), 1 pan fried Red Snapper which was good a Prime Rib sandwich (which was very good) and the Thai noodle salad with chicken (which was very good) I will definitely be going back. Not a cheap meal, but worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Always happening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a favorite place in Miracle Mile, it is always happening, pretty people, good ambiance, good drinks at the bar, and most of all good food! But make a reservation or expect to wait at the bar for a table, it's always crowded...cause it's good!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HighHeelsTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“loved it; as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We always try and have at least one meal here and it never dissapoints; this visit was made even better because we only waited 3 minutes for a table!! Food is excellent every time we come and we cant wait for another visit soon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kalamataPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing