We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Most beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana

Fontana
Ranked #23 of 321 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Most beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Biltmore and its grounds are so pleasing and lush. Love having lunch in the courtyard area and the service is so old world and professional. Walking around the property and seeing the exotic pool, golf course, gym and the stunning lobby with the most colorful little birds in the ornate cages is amazing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    79
    27
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service Equivalent to a 1 Star Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The experience for 7 business people at a Place labeled to be a 5 Star Hotel and Restaurant was absolutely unacceptable!
From the get go the waiter Kevin and servers could not get the right type of water to the persons who ordered it, three times over and over again!
Then our table got served two plates (we had not ordered yet) that was meant for another tables!
Only 6 main course meals were served, while the 7th was forgotten ( the waiter said it was a miscommunication). Until the 7th meal arrived those waiting ended up eating cold sea platters.
People who ordered Nutella dessert got the fruit tart, the person who ordered the vanilla pistachio ice cream got vanilla chocolate ice cream!
When waiter Kevin was informed about the (new) mixed up them only thing he would say was sorry!
I strongly believe that although the food was good the resonance and memory of the bad service equivalent to a 1 star dinner will keep all of our business group and acquaintances away from this local!
The lack of service could be due to the already charged and included tip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Now Thats Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

What a fantastic meal we had. Our Sommelier was great our server (Giovani) was fantastic and the food...wow.
The wife had the risotto with seafood(off the chain) and I had the traditional Carbonara and it was delicious. The portions were huge and we were so full we could not finish or even have reset. Next time, thats a must. Try the salami and cheese appetizer really good. We will be back, for sure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Go on, spoil yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had only stopped by for coffee and a look at the fabulous lobby, but once we sat down in the cafe by the vast swimming pool, we decided go stay for breakfast. What a good idea that turned out to be! The offee was delicious and copious, the charming servers very attentive and friendly. I chose the Eggs Benedict, which were superb - The best I've had since the Castle Hotel in Dartmouth, England.

I would return again and again if I lived in Florida.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Narguesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We called here on Sunday to enquire about an evening meal, to find that Sunday Brunch was in progress (although reservation recommended) the Valet suggested we enquire.
We were squeezed in but did not like our table so considered leaving.... but lo and behold they found us a superb table indoors but on the edge of the open area. Fantastic position.
The Brunch is a self service and covers everything from caviar to breakfast, raw fish options, vegetarian, roasts, hand-made breads - you name it, it is available.
Champagne and other drinks are free-flowing which made the brunch a very pleasant experience indeed.
Wilson, our 'wine waiter' from Ecuador was lovely. In fact all the staff were so pleasant and helpful that the several hours we spent there just 'disappeared'.
Including the gratuity it averaged around $100 per person, but it was an experience not to be missed and worth every penny.
The food was good (note, not 'perfect') but it was buffet style. Both quality and quantity were of high quality and the ambience was excellent.
Thank you all Biltmore Staff for making this visit so memorable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing