We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay - the pool is awesome”
Review of Fontana

Fontana
Ranked #22 of 348 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice stay - the pool is awesome”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Besides the nice clean room and friendly staff - the hotel is steeped in history and charm. Pool side service could be better

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kharwick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    83
    35
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Attentive Service, Very Friendly Chef”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a restaurant visit that I will remember forever. The Italian food was amazing, freshly made pasta, sauces were delicious without being overwhelming. Portions more than adequate. Taste was superb. Price was reasonable, Wine was great. The chef and maitre'd both came and chatted with us and then supplied complimentary freebies when I was asked "What is... ?" Everything about this meal, restaurant and service was perfect. We almost ate there 2 nights in a row but thought we should at least sample the other local restaurants. I will definitely be back and highly recommend this to any one, any family, any group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyMom-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
529 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came here based on Miami spice reviews. The appetizer was a spinach souffle with a jumbo shrimp. It was unusual and delicious. I ordered the chicken beast stuffed with cheese, spinach , and ham. We also ordered the homemade pasta with sausage. Both dishes were fresh and very good. Dessert was a pudding with chocolate touches. Service was excellent. Temperature was a little warm in the room and they turned on a fan for us. Get the valet parking ticket stamped before you leave. We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acielesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fabulous location in The Biltmore Hotel. Seating inside or out...both wonderful options depending on the weather. Ever present Manager who is on his toes tending to anything and everything, making each visitor feel like family. Excellent wait staff...we loved "Mary", our superb waitress! The wine offerings were limited but well chosen. The food was fabulous...we especially loved the bolognese...tasted like Grandma's! The fabulous new Chef is a tremendous asset to this dining option and has personality to boot. Don't miss this!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MimiStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seriously extravagant brunch”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

There are a couple of brunch buffets around the globe that can probably compare to the Biltmore's Sunday Brunch. A couple.

I have been going to this brunch for years. It never fails to impress visitors and locals, alike. Sumptuous, decadent, extravagant... those words simply don't suffice.

To say there is a plethora of choices and stations is an understatement. The seafood station alone usually fills me up, but then... with the glutton gene fiercely enabled... one must head to the bread station, the salad station, the carving station, the dessert station... and more!

Not cheap ($80 per person), but really with unlimited champagne and mimosas and all that glorious food, it is so worth it.

All this is a beautiful, old-world setting that lets us live as Gatsby might have for a couple of hours on a Sunday. Perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing