We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You cannot go wrong here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cofradia - CLOSED

La Cofradia
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2525 Ponce de Leon
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You cannot go wrong here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a lovely restaurant in the heart of Coral Gable. I had te ceviche Mixtura (Mixtura is the new name of the restaurant) which brings you a sampler 3 ceviches. They were all good but the Chilpote one was my favorite. Then I had Parpadelle with Shrimp in a aji sauce which was great. My friend had the day special: Paiche which was delicious. Unlike other Peruvian restaurant, this one does not put a loud music that prevents you from having a nice conversation without screaming.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“for different fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food is good and different and the service excellent but if you want a more relaxed feel, sit at the bar. Lot's more fun going on there. But if you prefer a formal dinner the dining room is more appropriate.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank kmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
423 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Nice food but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

La Cofradia positions itself as Peruvian, with seviches and chupes on the menu. The decor is somewhat standard and the service is rather muddled, but the food is good. I had a great goats cheese and yucca croqueta as a starter. The portion was tiny but very rich and full of flavour. For a main course, I had quinoa risotto, which had little vegetables and cheese mixed in. This wasn't on the menu they gave us at the table, but does feature on the La Cofradia web site. It was again a small dish but very rich and nicely flavoured.

The main disappointment was definitely the wine list which is too US biased and too expensive. There are a few Chilean and Argentinean wines, but not many, and they were really overpriced. Strangely there were some Greek wines on the menu which seemed a little out of place. One of the Argentinean wines we had was really quite poor quality, despite being $12 per glass.

The other disappointment is the service which is quite haphazard. The waiter would take some drinks orders then drift away. We had a long wait for our food, and one of the dishes came a good 10 minutes after everyone else's.

Overall this was a nice place to eat, as the food quality is very good, but as there are so many restaurants in Coral Gables, I don't see how this one stands out so much above the rest to justify the prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

La Cofradia used to be high end in price and quality, but on a recent visit it was neither. With new owners the prices have come down, but so has the quality. The menu was limited, and the confection of the dishes was average, at best.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MjM247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A place where food is delicious art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I came here as part of a group of perhaps 20. The decor was modern and a bit spartan - tasteful but not nearly as memorable as our meal - the food was unforgettable. This is a place where they obviously have a passion for food. Everything brought to the table was done beautifully, to the point that many in our party were taking pictures to share with friends back home. As for taste, each dish lived up to it's appearance. Excellent from beginning to end. The chef even came out and talked with us while we were eating to make sure everything was done to our liking. A fantasic evening I hope to repeat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cofradia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing