We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Exhibits” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowe Art Museum

Lowe Art Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Nice Exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice art collection which is even better when the different exhibitions are brought. Beautiful museum located on the University of Miami main campus in Coral Gables.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    33
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
326 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A Bright Spot in This Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This museum is on the campus of the Univ. of Miami. It supposedly has a large collection but it's interior area isn't that big. A bright spot is the collection of glass art. We have seen various works of glass art that are on the large size. These were human size and some were quite amazing. The galleries were so-so but I was taken with the well preserved Greco-Roman and southwest Native American artistry. A downside for this gallery is that it's on the campus and every parking spot in the small lot has a meter. It will cost you $0.25 for each 12 minutes you are parked there. There are meters on the street outside as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rockhound94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Very Fine Small Art Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We live in West Palm Beach, about 1 1/2 hours from the University of Miami campus, home to the Lowe Art Museum. We were particularly interested in a current, special exhibition by Stephen Knapp, an American artist best known as the creator of Lightpaintings. We had seen his work for sale at one of the major art shows in West Palm Beach and wanted to see more. So we piled into a car and took a drive to Miami.

When the Lowe Art Museum opened in the early 1950s it was the first art museum in South Florida. Today it has a collection of over 17,000 objects. The Knapp Exhibit was beautifully staged, with a significant collection of his works spread through two large exhibition spaces. The exhibition also included a local telephone number to call. Each piece was identified and had a telephone prompt, which provided an audio explanation by the artist. That was a nice touch and was very enriching.

Unfortunately, our schedule did not permit us the time to wander the rest of the museum. We would have liked to and someday will return. There is ample metered parking adjacent to the museum. It's easy to find and to enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBQUEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Well presented art and helpful staff. Collection is small with many of the works "attributed" or "school of..". But nonetheless very interesting.

Note that unless one wants student food there is nowhere to eat nearby.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank maritimevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Small but good quality art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed all the art on display. It's quite an eclectic collection, but no less interesting for that. The collection of glass pieces is particularly good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FatClone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowe Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lowe Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing