We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Martin's Restaurant

John Martin's Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 337 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ponce DeLeon
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
296 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wife and I went and were disappointed with the service not to mention that the food was very bland. We had to ask for bread twice and when received it was staled and old. The only thing good is the ambience and décor, which is very nice, and the Guiness beer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HectorFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“John Martin's is a great hang out place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I hung out for part of the afternoon at John Martin's, in Coral Gables, on the Miracle Mile. The decor is nice, comfortable and cozy. The wait staff is accomodating and friendly. Their food is great for Pub type fare. Their onion soup was delicious. My friend had their mussels, which were tasty and served in a large portion. I had a Greek salad that was chock full of veggies and Feta cheese. And, we used a charitydine.com coupon, which enabled us to receive a NICE DISCOUNT on our enjoyable dinner. John Martin's is the place for a low key afternoon or evening. You can watch sports events in their bar area. Or, you can dine in their lovely dining room. It is a place to kick back, relax and DE-STRESS. And, because we used a charitydine.com coupon-- our pocketbooks were NOT stressed either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice place for a few drinks and a good place to gather with friends. Mainly a bar in my opinion a great place to start the evening or have happy hour before walking to the other restaurants in the area. Their food is good but you feel like you are having dinner in a bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario0355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food is okay mostly a bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is a friendly bar with lots of regulars. Lunch is a bit pricey. many Irish specialties. Good shepards pie.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wernolabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Verde Carolina PR
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy Waitress Contagious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very early dinner so not too many patrons. Tuesday. Excellent service with a very happy waitress. Good wine. Very fresh oysters and good escargot. Food was good specially the Irish Mix Grill. Same for the corned beef with boiled cabbage and boiled potatoes.Reasonable prices in a very different ambiance. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edgar5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Martin's Restaurant also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to John Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing