We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John Martin's is a great hang out place!”

John Martin's Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 346 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ponce DeLeon
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“John Martin's is a great hang out place!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I hung out for part of the afternoon at John Martin's, in Coral Gables, on the Miracle Mile. The decor is nice, comfortable and cozy. The wait staff is accomodating and friendly. Their food is great for Pub type fare. Their onion soup was delicious. My friend had their mussels, which were tasty and served in a large portion. I had a Greek salad that was chock full of veggies and Feta cheese. And, we used a charitydine.com coupon, which enabled us to receive a NICE DISCOUNT on our enjoyable dinner. John Martin's is the place for a low key afternoon or evening. You can watch sports events in their bar area. Or, you can dine in their lovely dining room. It is a place to kick back, relax and DE-STRESS. And, because we used a charitydine.com coupon-- our pocketbooks were NOT stressed either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour Spot”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice place for a few drinks and a good place to gather with friends. Mainly a bar in my opinion a great place to start the evening or have happy hour before walking to the other restaurants in the area. Their food is good but you feel like you are having dinner in a bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario0355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food is okay mostly a bar”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is a friendly bar with lots of regulars. Lunch is a bit pricey. many Irish specialties. Good shepards pie.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wernolabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Verde Carolina PR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy Waitress Contagious”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very early dinner so not too many patrons. Tuesday. Excellent service with a very happy waitress. Good wine. Very fresh oysters and good escargot. Food was good specially the Irish Mix Grill. Same for the corned beef with boiled cabbage and boiled potatoes.Reasonable prices in a very different ambiance. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edgar5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“For the tourists”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm a 30 year Miami resident and have been frequenting John Martin's for approximately 20 years. The bar owners are Irish born and raised as I know a few Irish who have relocated to Miami. The food is average at best. There are much better less expensive places on Miracle Mile. We used to frequent the bar/restaurant at least 5-6 times a year, however the food quality has gone down and their food and drink prices have gone up substantially.

I went to a party there Saturday night and they charged me $13.50 for a Cosmopolitan with Grey Goose. With tip it came out to $15.50. That's pretty outrageous.

If you do eat here the Irish Breakfast is okay and the Irish Brown bread is authentic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellyexcursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Martin's Restaurant also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to John Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing