We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 342 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
coconut grove
Level Contributor
120 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was a tad pricey but a lovely meal far away from the "Miami scene". Lovely location and very good food. The fish is super fresh and the wait staff attentive and knowledgeable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 33map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    62
    18
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful Waterside Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a fabulous dinner in this waterside restaurant tucked away in the Matheson Hammock park in Coral Gables.We could stroll around the waterfront before dinner and enjoy the wonderful views of Biscayne Bay. Our server, Paul, was just the right mix of friendly and efficient. The menu is mainly fish and seafood, but with a good range of choices. The crab cakes were wonderful, as was the grilled salmon. Other folks in our party had calamari, tuna tartare, mahi mahi and mussels -- all excellent. Fortunately for us it was not too busy and evening, because in between courses the heavens opened and the monsoon began. There was room for everyone to get a fresh table inside and have a good laugh about it. The wait staff took it all in stride. The indoor atmosphere was excellent. We would go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65JaneC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food, Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice upscale restaurant off the beaten path - located inside a park. Enjoy dinner on the patio with Biscayne Bay in the background. Food & service were both very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bpmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just love this park, have spend many many Sunday's afternoon sitting, resting my back on the trunk of one of the many coconut palms, while I read or just contemplated the beauty of the nature that surrounded me.
With that in mind, this was the first place I thought about, when Ramon asked me to be his wife.
Do not hesitate to make this your formidable and unforgettable place for a great wedding!
The RedFish Grill is a one of it's jewels, the perfect place to have your after the ceremony reception! You can rent the whole restaurant or you can do what we did, a small an intimate one.
Chris, the owner, is a class act!! He made it happen!! And the food, the staff and the whole easiness and attitude, contributed to the success of our memorable and perfect day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bilancia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rainy day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food was good as was the service. I really wished it hadn't rained so we could have sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful view! Open Table didn't give me the option to reserve indoors versus outdoors. I would definitely call next time to confirm an outdoor table if the weather had been better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing