We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing place with an amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 321 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place with an amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Next to the beach, the place is very romatic so ideal for couples.
The food is good, you must try the fish and the key lime pie!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaux D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    58
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
389 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“An Anniversary weekend delight...bring your camera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

There are three things that make a outstanding meal.....The Service, The Setting & The food and frankly the service and the setting can make good food fantastic. Such is the case with the red fish grill. The food was very good (wife had Maine Lobster i had the Sea Bass)'but the service and setting on the patio just make this place special. The three derogatory comments that I have heard were 1. It's hard to find.....we drove right to it because we followed the small RED FISH GRILL signs posted from the park entrance to,the restaurant. It can be confusing because you're in the middle of a residential area but as soon as you see the VERY LARGE sign for the park turn into the park and follow the RED FISH signs. (2) Patio has causal furniture ...it's Florida and it rains so don't expect fancy furniture....you're overlooking the bay and it's a gorgeous setting get over the furniture and enjoy!! (3) Slow Service....I found the service to be a perfect pace, but I wasn't try to eat and run, it wanted this romantic gem to soak in so I was very happy with our service. My one additional suggestion to,folks dinning here is bring your camera and walk around the lagoon at sunset, you will get some marvelous pictures. Enjoy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rfamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic Setting, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to the Red Fish Grill to celebrate my birthday. We sat outdoors, at my preference, and it was a beautiful setting and truly a very romantic feel. It was a little challenging to find the restaurant…watch carefully for the RED FISH GRILL signs, but well worth it.

We ordered a bottle of the Iron Horse Chardonnay, Sonoma, which was very good. I started with the soup of the day which was incredible and my husband enjoyed the Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes. We both ordered the Chilean Sea Bass. It was very good but not spectacular. I would order it again however. For dessert, I had a key lime pie with a candle and my husband had a flan.

I’d say the service was average, not great but not bad…and a little slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, On the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great location. You must make reservations if you want to dine here. There is no sign larger than your hand pointing the way to this place either. It's in Matheson Hammock County Park in a Coral Rock building as old as Miami. This is a fine dining restaurant and it lives up to that reputation. Do not expect to get a poor meal or a small bill. There is no seafood on the menu that is not absolutely fresh and in season. There are other dishes for those that cannot have seafood also, but the menu is not huge. You can have your dinner looking over Biscayne Bay, under the Palms. There is no other place in Miami like it and only a few others in Florida that come close. We live in Miami and go here on special occaisioins and have never been let down. Great wine list too. What a great place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FisherNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Has Potential But Room to Improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went for our anniversary on a Sunday evening. It is definitely tucked away in a state park. When it says that it is on the water, well, it is not quite. While you can see the bay in the distance, it sits on a public beach with a small shallow wading area. I recommend going after 6:30 pm when the beach closes. The setting inside the restaurant and especially the patio is very nice and they have done what they can to seclude you. The service was good and the food was above average. The figs in my fig salad had an odd taste but the watercress was plentiful and lightly dressed. I had crab cakes which were tasty but had a little much filling for my liking. My husband's mahi mahi was cooked well. We shared key lime pie for dessert. It may have been the best part of the dinner. Loved the almond graham crust.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing