We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 342 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The restaurant is hard to find unless you know the area. It is in a LARGE national park. The setting by the water is beautiful and there was a wedding taking place when we were there. We both had fish which were excellent. The sea bass was exceptional. The service was attentive and our waiter Paul was very professional.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    62
    18
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food Not Equal To Gorgeous Setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sitting on the outside patio at sundown among swaying palms and watching boats coming in after a day out on beautiful Biscayne Bay definitely makes the Red Fish Grill one of the very nicest tropical settings in all of South Florida. Maybe these pristine surroundings also raised our expectations a bit too high for a special dining experience as well. There were six in our party and we chose both fish and beef dishes. We really liked the lobster bisque, yellowfin tuna and their hanger steak. The fig salad appetizers were nothing special and the salmon was OK. One member of our group commented that his fish selection did not seem very fresh, possibly prepared from frozen fish. All that said, I do encourage you to try the Red Fish Grill, enjoy the wonderful setting but have reasonable expectations for the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAILORPETEMIAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Local Treasure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been to Red Fish Grill for dinner half a dozen times in the last couple of years. The setting always takes my breath away... There is no other like it in Miami. It truly is unique! The building itself looks like a historic Florida home; made of oolite rock and wood; spectacular views of the bay and Matheson Hammock Park. At that time of day the park is closed, so you won't find the beach crowd. The food is very good, not great; but that won't keep me from going again. Last time I had the seared yellow fin tuna. It was very fresh tasting, and the portion was generous.
Service was attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUBTROPICALZONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were guests at a wedding this weekend and the event was magical! From the beachfront ceremony to the transition to the reception... all wonderful!

Our fish entrees were fresh and delicious and the service was attentive and very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to come back for dinner anytime.

Sunset was amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What A Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The location on Biscayne Bay in incredible and the food is outstanding. This is a don't miss while in Miami

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank concher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing