We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Setting”
Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 352 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
Florida Keys
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What A Setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The location on Biscayne Bay in incredible and the food is outstanding. This is a don't miss while in Miami

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank concher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    63
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food with a View”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The restaurant is amazing. Great food and ambiance. Daytime is perfect by the lagoon, nighttime is great with the tiki torches and atmosphere. The food is excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayraB688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A waterside fantasy of a place”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My first trip to this restaurant and we were all mesmerized y the beauty of its surroundings. Unique coquina building with open outdoor dining among trunk-lit coconut palms throughout the patio. A great sample of what Miami outdoor dining can be in the cooler, yet drier months of winter. The food was good, though the soups came in lukewarm instead of hot, once returned and brought back at the right temperature, the taste was unique. sweet plaintain soup with mussels and crabmeat. The main entrees were nicely prepared and well presented. The service lacks thorough training to be good. It was mediocre at best. The servers didnt notice that there were missing pieces on one table setting, and we had to ask for bread and butter, and later for salt and pepper. While he had the "tonight's specials" well memorized, he failed to suggest taking our drink orders. We asked him to take it for us. Upon the food being brought to the table, the server asked whom had the snapper and whom had the crabcakes. This is a basic expecation of a good trainer to have servers ID the dining guests so to not have to ask for whom's the food belongs to later, and how to read the table to ensure that it is properly set. Management seemed to be around, but they seemed to be running with little attention to supervising the servers.

All this can be overlooked because of the beautiful ambiance of the locale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adiscerningtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the view, but not our food!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

If you've never been to this restaurant by all means try at least ones. Just driving to it at night is an intriguing and amazing experience. The view is phenomenol! However in our opinion (4 of us) the food leaves a lot to be desired. The calamari was good (arrived in a flash). My friend and I ordered the cobia which tasted terrible too much cumin mixed with a strong fishy taste is not a good combo. My husband's snapper was good I ate his instead. Very expensive for the quality of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bring MacDonalds and KFC for the kids”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We suppose the Red Fish has a nice ambiance when you arrive early enough to see the lagoon. Our meal was mixed at best. The calamari was great, as was the snapper, salad and tuna tartar. But: the "Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes 18" were anything but ... they were typical roadhouse five-dollar Maryland crab cakes, with stringy claw meat mixed with more breading, nicely crispy but not a lump of crab to be found. They weren't jumbo, nor was the crab. We guess the jumbo refers to the price.

The "kids burger" was charred to oblivion and could not be saved with plastic packets of catsup. The second child wanted chicken, so we foolishly agreed to pay full price ($25) for a tasteless and overdone hunk of chicken breast ... akin to your grandmother's turkey breast. Red Fish makes it clear that children are not welcome.

A nice wine list makes cruise prices look like bargains.

But we suppose if travelers like us make the mistake of coming once, Red Fish will stay in business.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritzarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing