We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palme d’Or

Palme d’Or
Reserve with OpenTable
Palme d’Or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 321 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $105 - $175
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Granada
Description: The Biltmore’s chic, signature restaurant presents one of the finest dining experiences in America. Highly personal cuisine combining impeccable worldly artisanal products and modern French techniques. Patrons can custom-design their own dining experience around the 20-plus offered “tasting” plates and award winning wine list.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First let me say I am not a huge fan of French food so that reflects in my 4 star review.


The restaurant, service and ambiance was top notch, A+, 100% great. Price was high. My husband and I tried the price fix 5 course sampler for $120?-- cant quite remember. Food was good, although portions were small as you might expect from a sampler menu. Presentation was beautiful, the wine was delish, and service could not have been better. The chef even brought us extra small items to sample when he heard we had never dined in a French place before.

Those who like French food will most likely be very happy. Beautiful atmosphere for a special occasion.


Overall a nice experience, but I will probably not be back because the food is simply not my style .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyMom-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    30
    10
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
358 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant exhales perfection, from the ambiance to the service, the food was absolutely pefectly well served and cooked. We parked on the adjacent lot and walked thru the pool to enter the hotel. The restaurant is very classic, old fashioned style, very charming and chic. There were people of all ages, most couples or business groups.
My only complaint is related to the chairs, there are really uncomfortable, they are huge and wide and do not support your back, that feeling was very uncomfortable and made us want to go inmediately after our excelent dinner. We chose the Miami Spice menu, every dish was amazing, for us it was our best experience of the Miami Spice and a night to remember. Congrats to the chef and their staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific food and patient service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited for lunch though the dinner menu is much more expansive. Terrific mixed green salad and perfectly cooked salmon. You can sit outdoors (they have portable a/c fans) or, as i chose, indoors in the a/c. The indoors has little ambience but is popular and spread out for private conversations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12Tippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent French Restaurant in So. Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently had dinner at La Palme D'Or at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables. They have a new Chief that offered us an exquisite selection of different appetizers and entrees. The wine selection was excellent as well and the service just outstanding.
As one of our friends, visiting from Spain, told us, this was the best dinner that they had during their three weeks vacation in Miami.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
604 reviews
500 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Oh, la la!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The only regret is that we hadn't been to Palm D'Or in too long! We were genuinely concerned when Chef Philippe left, but somehow Chef Pugin stepped things up. He's a 2-Star, by the way! Service was crisp & friendly. The setting remarkable. And the cuisine ... magnificent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pineapples-a-Plenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palme d’Or also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Palme d’Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing