We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Vaca Frita in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Harry's

Havana Harry's
Ranked #5 of 321 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotch Plains
Level Contributor
243 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Vaca Frita in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Havana Harry's offers the typical Cuban fare in a city where people know Cuban food and they do it well. Their vaca frita is terrific and their bistec palomilla is delicious. Try their sopa de malanga which is creamy and smooth. The only disappointment is that they did not offer natilla or arroz con leche. Their wine list is quite reasonably priced and offers a good selection.
Because it is a family oriented restaurant I would not recommend it for a quiet, romantic evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    144
    39
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's different, plenty of food, good taste, good service, good drinks, Cuban food with salsa, not to bad for somebody like me, who knows how to cook Cuban food

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aniestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Deliciosa!! Oh so deliciosa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ate at the Coral Gables location with our family. I had the Baby Churrasco and I thought the Chimichurri sauce was the best I've ever tasted. The pork chop was also excellent as were the sides - moro rice, sweet plantains, yucca and more. Had the Dulce de Leche Flan for dessert...big enough to share...and it was fantastic, again possibly the best flan I've ever had. Restaurant atmosphere is lovely. I agree with previous poster that the paper on the tables could go. A wonderful, enjoyable, delicious meal! Don't hesitate to try it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ecrmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cuban restaurant very close to Brazilian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Every time we are in Miami area we come to Havana Harry's for at least one meal. As Brazilians it is the most close we can get to comfort food for us.
We usually share among us Churrasco and Vaca Frita as the portion is enough for the 4 of us, we also order Yuca Frita (fried yuca) which is the highlight of the meal for us.
The price is very good for the food you get considering the size of the portions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scalex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Alabama (LA)
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Comida deliciosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were driving to the Miami airport after a long weekend of fishing in the Keys and decided we wanted some Cuban food. Our Garmin navigation system picked out a place called Havana Harry's for us and we stopped for lunch - hoping for the best.

We ordered Chicken Vaca Frita (shredded chicken with grilled onions, garlic, and moho sauce) and Lechoncita (shredded roasted pork with grilled onions, garlic, and moho sauce) along with yuca, platanos maduras, and black beans & rice. The portions were just right for two hungry growing boys and the food was delicious! The prices were also quite reasonable and we enjoyed excellent service from the restaurant staff. Havana Harry's turned out to be a serendipitous selection and we added it to the Garmin's favorites list so we can be sure to find this place again on our next visit to Miami.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curb_jumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Harry's also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Havana Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing