We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Miami Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romeo's Cafe

Romeo's Cafe
Ranked #140 of 319 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: SW 22nd Avenue
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite Miami Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I went there last night to celebrate her birthday and it was outstanding. This is one of the best restaurants we have been to both in the United States and overseas. Romeo, the owner and chef greets you personally within minutes of arrival. He asks you a few questions and then proceeds to create your entire 6 course meal from scratch. There is no menu and it is Romeo himself who makes this experience stellar. Every patron has an entirely different meal. The food is five stars and top quality. Romeo is constantly checking on you throughout the meal. This is the perfect establishment for special occasions and even though it is top dollar, you absolutely get your money's worth! We will definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erock9578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    15
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My brother had wanted to try this restaurant for many years. In our family, we travel to a destination to eat for each milestone birthday and chose this location for his 50th. Romeo is very personable and asks what each diner likes or doesn't like, then crafts the meal around those facts.

The six course meal was absolutely delightful from start to finish! Our favorites were the salmon carpaccio for the first course and the duck course was outstanding.

All in all, we loved this restaurant and would recommend it from a family of foodies.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank InternationalBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic night out or just a great dinner with friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This little restaurant on the fringes of Coral Gables is a wonderful treasure in the Miami culinary landscape. In a small space with warm lighting and an intimate atmosphere chef Romeo Majano will spoil your taste buds and make you want to come back soon. He visits every table to find out what his guests won't eat and then he will go back to his kitchen to create a 4 or 6 course meal (your choice) with a surprising variety of ingredients, textures, scents and flavors.

It's a dinner symphony of foods. A nice and reasonably priced wine list adds to the enjoyable offerings, and we allways have the chocolate souffle for desert - but then you can ask Romeo for other recommendations. You'll love the entire experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reisepassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a small gem and probably the kind of restaurant most chefs wish they could afford to operate. The cuisine is Northern Italian which rules out the kind of trendy fusion cuisine some here seemed to be seeking. Romeo's is about the total dining experience. That said our six courses were well-done and the portions precisely measured to leave you satisfied. At the end of the meal, my two teenage boys were neither over- nor under-fed.

It starts with the owner/chef greeting you on arrival. Most places try to have a manager circulate to the tables once or twice during a given visit. Here you get the attention of the chef and owner several times during the meal. He is not just asking a perfunctory 'Is everything OK?' He initially asks about your preferences and then tailors that evening's prix fixe course to accommodate what you told him earlier. He then comes back to ask if he did it well. This means he remembers you and what you told him. Remarkable!

This level a service carries over the rest of the staff. During our visit they were both attentive and unobtrusive - which is my gold standard. I didn't spend a lot of time with the wine list but it appeared to exist less as a major profit center and more as something to compliment the meals. Ahem... the prices were reasonable.

I was little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here but they evaporated quickly. Some people have complained that the food was ordinary. I would answer that it was ordinary food prepared and served extraordinarily well. There is a difference.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedScourge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“More name than what it is!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

It is famous, but to expensive for what really is, the food is ok, they do not have a menu, so the chef will tell you depending on what do you like, what he will cook. Again food is good, small restaurtant.

Helpful?
Thank Avicultura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romeo's Cafe also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Romeo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing