We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Food was great, service so so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 321 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Aragon
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food was great, service so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went to this restaurant taking advantage of the Coral Gables Restaurant Week. The food was amazing, however the service was kind of slow. We were sitting there for more than 15 minutes before the waiter actually came by. Other than that the food was good, kind of expensive even with the Coral Gables Week deal, but totally worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    50
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Up to Par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Wife, daughter, and I ordered the filet. The steak was properly cooked, but it was tasteless. The quality of the meat was not the quality I have experienced here in the past. The spinach and potato au gratin was just average. For desert we had the bread pudding, that was very good. There are better steakhouse choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS FIRST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not only was the food awful, the waiter made fun of me!!! Little did Rueben realize, but I was paying the bill and his tip.....A BIG FAT ZERO.....reflected my disgust. The steak tasted off at first bit and flavorless throughout the rest. Save your hard-earned cash....this is just another VERY OVERRATED STEAK JOINT THAT CHARGES WAY, WAY, WAY TOO MUCH!!! I would have enjoyed a Nathan's hot dog more than my $50 steak!!!! What the hell was I thinking!!!

OHHHHHH and the valet parking is $8 plus a tip!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“You have to try the blueberry mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A great place to sit in the bar, enjoy lobster and seared tuna appetizers and a great steak. Ours was cooked to perfection and served sizzling on the plates. The atmosphere is comfortable, quiet and friendly. Their blueberry mojitos are to die for! ENJOY!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming here the past 6 years. Used to be great but now only average. My companions crab cake entree was fishy and full of crab shells. My medium rare filet mignon was completely raw inside but even worse was not a great cut of meat. It was not a fresh piece of meat. Very disappointing for a place the prides itself on great meat. I can only assume they have changed chefs and lost the previous great one to be replaced by an average mediocre chef.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joelob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing