We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ortanique on the Mile

Ortanique on the Mile
Reserve with OpenTable
Ortanique on the Mile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 332 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Salzedo & Miracle Mile (Coral Way)
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is definitely one of the best.. excellent service and delicious food. We made reservations, walked in, gave our name and in less than 2 minutes we were at the table. The menu is so "attractive" that .... well, this is the only place you wish you had a bigger belly. We went for the pan sauteed grouper and the flat iron steak and they both were deeeelicious!! For dessert we ordered Ortanique's tres leches.. with mango and the bred pudding... with a touch of guava...OOMMGG!. Over all: Excellent and a little expensive but then again, worthy. Personally, I only found a couple of things: the caribbean-type music a little too loud and the restaurant's AC kind of cold.. But again, keep in mind that for me, any loud sound becomes a nuisance and any temperature below 65 degrees seems to have reached 'the freezing point.' And Chef Cindy Hutson: You ARE great!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    86
    31
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Dining on Miracle Mile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Miracle mile needs and update and so does this restaurant. I've come previously for business lunches and it was fine (likely i was focused on the business impression and not interested in the food's taste) so I decided to visit on a personal trip.
Service was quick and helpful. The food was a bit dried out and overstated. To me too much salt is used when the food cannot stand on its own as far as taste. The food was memorable in that the portion size was lean, even by NY standards and the presentation while pretty on the orange plates was blahh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I went during the coral gables restaurant week , where u get a fixed menu for a fixed price, and the food was great! I will like to try it with the regular menu but I am sure anything from the menu is delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the Best in South Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Another great restaurant in the City Beautiful Coral Gables. Located right on Miracle Mile, this Caribbean fusion restaurant lives up to all the positive feedback it has received. great ambience with the design/colors reminding you of the Islands. The flavors are out of this world, from the pleasant greeting as we walked in , to the server who poured water and placed the nice warm bread already prepared with a garlic butter, to the huge selection of wine, even by the glass. And of course the daily chef specials and normal menus were excellent. Can't have a complete experience without the dessert, and they have many to choose from. If you are looking for great service, excellent food and want a unique experience than this is your place a must for all foodies, enjoy !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We happened into Ortanique as one of the featured restaurants during Coral Gables dining week. Great selection with interesting flavors. Great service. Would highly recommend and will visit on my next trip to this food lovers paradise.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Southern_grandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortanique on the Mile also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Ortanique on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing