We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“La Dorada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Dorada

La Dorada
Ranked #44 of 329 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Dorada Coral Gbales is the First & Only Spanish Restaurant in USA to Receive "The International Five Star Diamond Award & "The Five Green Star Award" from The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Dorada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our attorney recommended this restaurant. We went for dinner. Fish and sea food just superb. And the desserts!!! glorious.

the owner is from Galicia and recited some poems by Rosalia de Castro to us when he learnt my husband's family is also from there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
194 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Old world Spanish seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The restaurant has white tablecloths, live music, and has an old world ambience. We were immediately hit with the aroma of seafood but in a good way. We had a bottle of Rioja wine for about $45. It was okay but not spectacular. They do have fantastic wines but you will have to spend more than what we did. Wait staff was pleasant and helpful. I asked if they would make Gambas ajilo (shrimp with garlic). It was fantastic and the best thing we ate in my opinion although the sea bass was also sublime. The salad we shared was the scallop salad in a warm vinaigrette on a bed of greens. The scallops wee sliced and sautéed and came with tomatoes (not that fresh) and cucumbers. The dressing was bland and not enough brightness to give it a wow factor. For our entree, we had the sea bass flown in from Spain. I don't know why they have to fly in seafood from Spain three times a week, it is Miami for goodness sakes and seems pretentious. For $35 a person to share the fish cooked in salt, it was good but not GREAT. Perhaps a more local fish would have been better and better value as well. I am skeptical about seafood flown in from Spain three times a week but it was good. For dessert we shared the apples in puff pastry with vanilla bean ice cream. It was good but not particularly memorable. I liked the restaurant and the food. If I go again, I will have to try the paella. All in all, about a 4.5 rating. It is expensive but overly when compared to the prices at the beach for half the quality and taste. Good date place or special occasion.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING RESTAURNT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I went here last year with my girlfriend it was such a nice place great food and service i'm going back again this year. 5 star

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YORKSHIRE75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Such a pleasure~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We never miss a delicious seafood meal here at this consistenlty wonderful place. Brought a business client whomwas os impressed he wants to bring his Mother another time. Have what ever is the fresh fish of the day and expect lovely service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank overdoityks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The food and service are top class
Value for money, although not cheap, is probably one of the best not only in Coral Gable but in Miami overall
Fish is always fresh and the chef there all the time to accomodate any need
Wine list is perfectly balance, with some expensive wines but also some good value for money, esp. The whites from Spain
We have been there already three times and never been disappointed
Last, the place is quite for a conversation arpund the table which, at least in Miami, is something quite unusual

Helpful?
Thank TravellingfromItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dorada also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing