We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Pascal's on Ponce

Pascal's on Ponce
Reserve with OpenTable
Pascal's on Ponce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 353 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Almeria Avenue
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The service was awful, the bar doesn't have everything you would expect from a full bar. We asked for a bottle of wine and they did not have it. The waiter recommended a different wine that was $20 more, we refised. The raviolis half were cold, the other half ok.

Helpful?
Thank TheGVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duck Key, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb French cuisine with local flair”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Pascals is the place to enjoy real haute cuisine, the chef/owner is at his best, with a good selection from the regular menu plus very special weekend specials. Everything is fresh, and seasonal, served in impeccable style by an attentive staff. Portions are small, thank God, and for many pricey for the quantity, but that's quality eats. Good bar and excellent wine selection. Place is small so not much privacy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andres v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Had to try it out after reading the rave reviews. Ordered the swiss chard ravioli and crab crepes for appetizers. The presentation was average. The ravioli was tepid. Had the osso bucco for main course. It wasn't very hot, nor tender. I've had better at less expensive restaurants in the area. The ambiance is average as well. Service was above average. Ordered martinis. However, the olives could have been larger, heartier. The overall experience would have been fine if I had not had such high expectations. If I ever go back, I will try the souffles and the lobster bisque as people genuinely seem to enjoy those. Two appetizers, two entrees, three drinks. $200

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love_2_travel_305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pascal not worth the money”
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I went with my wife and a couple on Saturday, May 19. My wife and I ordered the Ossobuco which was the nights special it was awful hard and hardy any risotto, not exaggerating may two table spoons.
The other couple asked for $75 for course meal. This foir course meal is an appetizer, then a second appetizer that was awful (1 scallop with piece of pear on top), the main course is 4 tiny beef medalions, then desert. Not worth the $75.00.
Then on the $75 dollar four course for an additional for $50 they will pare your meal. For the $50, they give three glasses of wine and last one is a desert wine. They wines were not great
tasting.
From the Bar they don't carry Hendricks gin, nor Johnny Walker double black.
This is suppose to be a French Restaurant, waiters reach over to give your drinks and pour water.
It's not a place to go.

Helpful?
Thank TheGVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Light food, good service - a quiet well thought through restaurant with European portions of well cooked fresh food. A delight

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pascal's on Ponce also viewed

 

Been to Pascal's on Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing