We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culebrinas is great”
Review of Las Culebrinas - CLOSED

Las Culebrinas
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Culebrinas is great”
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

If you want to eat Cuban food this is the place to go. We ordered the fried cheek peas (garbanzos), they melt in your mouth. I ordered the grilled seafood it was very good.
The bread and garlic butter, OMG, very good.
They have some good wines, we had an inexpensive Albariño, very good.
Desert was fabolous, best flan I ever had
I will return.

Helpful?
Thank TheGVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS RESTAURANT”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great Cuban/Argentinian fare in a nice atmosphere. The service is always pleasant and prompt. Family friendly. Order a variety of tapas instead of a full meal. You'll love the variety. Warning- if you don't like loud music, don't go on a Friday or Saturday night.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank evamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Invited to Las Culebrinas by a friend who highly recommends this restaurant. Billed as a Cuban/Spanish restuarant I challenge you will find an unique, inexpensive and well prepared menu. Not being familiar with this type of cuisine I didn't know what to expect. Every course, from our pre-meal Sangria, our appetizers and entrees were simple and delicious. Service was superior and the prices were extremely reasonable. This restaurant is on my "must go" list. There is something for everyone here.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An amazing combo " Spanish / Cuban "”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The manager of the Hotel recommend Us this place and one night we decide to try this place. I would like to say that the combination of flavors, species, condiments and unique cuisin also with a very generous portions make the most delicious experience.
Please try the Spanish sangria in this place...it is really good.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaGomP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small, Great food, service is slow.”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Small hole in the wall place with not more than 10 or 12 parking spots, but definitely a great find.

I am not of Spanish heritage, but I have lived in South Florida for many years and have had Cuban food from a lot of places. All of the traditionally Cuban fare we had was very good, Ropa Vieja was excellent, best I have had.

Other items like calamari were average at best. Then again ordering a fried seafood appetizer in a cuban restaurant, is sort of like going to Starbucks and expecting an excellent omelette.

Some of the other reviewers are right, the service there is slow, and if you do not speak any Spanish at all, you will find you are only able to communicate with a couple of the people there. So don't visit if you are in a rush and embrace the fact that you are in the heart of Coral Gables and a mostly spanish speaking staff is not uncommon there.

Overall good food, and we would definitely revisit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Culebrinas also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing