We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Mediterranean restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maroosh Mediterranean Restaurant

Maroosh Mediterranean Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 320 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Since 1985, Maroosh Mediterranean Restaurant has served the finest, Mediterranean cuisine in Coral Gables. In this location since 2000, we offer a dining experience unlike any other. We look forward to you visit. Welcome!
San Jose
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a good restaurant . Big place , food was good . Chicken Kebabs, lamb curry and dessert Namora was awesome .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raul3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cutler Bay, Fl
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great place for both lunch and dinner. Their hummus is out of this world. Everything is so fresh and authentic. I don't know what they marinate their chicken in, but it is so moist and delicious. Love their appetizer deluxe which comes with hummus, grape leaves, greek salad and fried kibbeh for lunch. Delicious! It is a hidden gem off the beaten path of Ponce de Leon in Coral Gables.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PennylaneIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, okay food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I stopped here for lunch today after finding this restaurant on Yelp. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but is beautifully decorated on the inside.

As I'm vegetarian, I ordered a greek salad and the spinach pie. The salad wasodtly lettuce with a few bits of tomato and cucumber. There werr only a couple of olives, and the cheese was shredded and didn't have much taste. The spinach pie was four bit sized pies. They were okay, bit not ad filling as I'd hoped for the price. I wish they had some kind of vegetarian sampler plate. My brother ordered the lamb kebab which he said was fine. We had a beer each and our total (pre tip) was $49 which seemed a bit steep to me, but may be on par with Coral Gables restaurant prices.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UltraNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was average, service was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I guess you can say this is a hole-in-the-wall, but that would be grossly understating the place. You can easily drive right by Maroosh if you didn't know it was there. However, the inside is decorated in an almost overly ornate fashion. There's no mistaking that this is meant to be a fine dining establishment, and that is what it is.
The service was attentive without being overbearing. The owner came by to introduce himself and make sure that everything was up to snuff.
Each table receives pitas, olives and pepperoncinis to snack shortly after being seated. The pitas were dry, but the pepperoncinis were lightly pickled and were a nice snack.
We ordered a gyro platter and a curried grouper as the entrees. The gyro platter was tasty, but nothing special. The curried grouper was cooked perfectly. It came off in little flakes and a knife really wasn't needed. The curry sauce that accompanied was tasty. It had a gentle warmth, but it seemed to be missing a little spice that really would've brought that level of comfort that curries can do.
I would skip the desserts unless you like your sweets a little dry. We had the namora, which had a light sweet syrup over a dry cake. I think the intention is to let the syrup soak in and it'll create a moist dessert, but it didn't work. We also had a similar dessert that was stuffed with a sweet cheese (they described it as ricotta-like). While this dessert was better than the namora, it still had a light dryness to it that kept us from appreciating it's flavors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average food with very good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I went for lunch last weekend, food was average, a bit disappointed since the previous visit. Service was always very good and so was the wine and dessert.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank megan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maroosh Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Maroosh Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing