We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date night!”
Review of Christy's

Christy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Christy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 352 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Malaga and University
South Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great date night!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a great dinner last night at Christy's! Service was super and the food was a wow! While the menu is traditional steakhouse, all the food was great. We had the escargot and oysters rockefeller for appetizers and, of course, filet for dinner. The au poivre sauce was a hit with us. We were very impressed by the inexpensive but well seleted wine list. The atmosphere is consummate steakhouse - burgundy red walls, class art and comfortable furniture. Very well appointed place! It was pricey but worth it. More of a special occasion restaurant. If you haven't tried Christy's, give it a shot. We will surely go back.

One note - there is no valet parking (odd for South Florida and a restaurant of this caliber). There is easy parking on the street (meter) and in the court parking lot across the street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    47
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food, awesome service very nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Repeat visitors to Coral Gables and we wanted to try another steak house. After reading reviews of Christy's, it sounded perfect. I made my reservation via open table and requested a table away from the front door. I was accomodated.

Very professional wait staff was knowledgeavble and attentive without being pushy. WIne list is good, though beware that vintages on the list are not up to date. We ordered a wine that was listed at 2007 and got a 2009. Hmmm.... seems easy enough to update.

Shrimp cocktail is to die for - colossal shrimp presented in a traditional dish with fresh cocktail sauce. Each dinner includes salad - the caesar was perfectly dresses, and the waiter was sure to inquire in advance if we wanted anchovies.

Steak was perfectly done with au povie sauce on the side. Dessert as well as coffee and tea capped off the night. Near as perfect a steak house experience as exists.

The restaurant is very nicely decorated with dimmed lighting and pressed tin ceiling. What's not to like?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kosx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay Food, Poor Attitude”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I visited this restaurant during Miami Restaurant Month. Christy's was participating in the Miami Spice menu, so we decided to give it a try. The waiter was so rude to everyone that we heard ask for the menu. He made us (and others that we heard) feel like we did not belong in this place because we were trying to take advantage of the deal they decided to offer. They went as far as to hide the Miami Spice menu behind the Hostess stand, and make everyone have to ask for it just so that he could give them each the same snooty reaction once they did. I can't even tell you if the steak was good or not. I ate it in a hurry because we were dying to get out of there. Needless to say, I will never be back, and tell this story to anyone who asks me about Christy's. With so many choices for a good steak in Miami (Prime 112, Red, Flemings, Morton's, Smith & Wollensky, Ruth's Chris, etc.) I don't know why anyone would want to spend their money to be treated like dirt. This place is old, stuffy, and extremely pretentious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Miami_Traveler_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
“Always Good!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went to this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion with our friends and had a great time. The food was delicious and quality. The Baked Alaska dessert is always a delight.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank REYNALDO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Town”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A classic indeed: Peaceful atmosphere combined with a great service and excellent food. And yes, dinner for two can easily jump over $150.00 - and keep running...! But then, here you will find great ceasar salad, soups (like lobster bisque, onion soup,) steaks, fish and for the grand finale, you can go for either the baked alaska, the key lime pie or the chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. (The Cappuccino however, for some reason, tasted like burned coffee so you should order it at 'at your own risk'.) And of course, if you are lucky, you will even get to see some great personalities, like we did: Micky Arison and his wife! So, save some money, make a reservation and go for it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Christy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing