We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch”
Review of Bulla Gastrobar

Bulla Gastrobar
Reserve with OpenTable
Bulla Gastrobar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 351 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Andalusia Avenue
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great brunch there today. Food and service good. Liked decor but a little quiet on the people front. Would definitely go back for brunch and try for dinner based on experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoBECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    153
    42
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad but overpriced”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Food taste was good, but portions were a little small for the prices. Ambience is very good, Thursday nights is a good place to be for a drink and a tapa

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jose Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great flavors + friendly service = exceptional value”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had an 8 hour MIA layover and decided to do some shopping and to check out Bulla and the Miami Spice promo. Had selected Bulla based on reviewing menus from the Miami Spice section of Miami.com and we were totally satisfied with the choice. Our server was quite knowledgeable and we followed her suggestions- wow! We started with tortilla espanola and chorizo appetizers and chose pork loin and albondiga entrees- ALL were flavorful, well presented and perfect proportions. Manager stopped by with sample French toast tapas for evaluation, complete with scorecards during the meal- nice touch. We finished with flan de coco and crema catalana- yes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Huygensstraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Miami Spice Excellence”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my other Yelp friend Roger decided to venture out of Sobe to try a recommended restaurant in Miracle Mile area called Bulla. Luckily, tis' the season of Miami Spice and this place was listed. The choices looked good so we stuck to the Miami Spice menu. Its across Fleming's and Swine and parking was not a problem. Walked in and was immediately greeted by the hostess. The 1st floor were high top seating but comfortable. We liked the fact that hostess made us aware the name of our server 1st hand. Loved the ambiance of the dining room too. Busy but not cramped. We ordered their signature margaritas to start....perfectly prepared...potent. There's nothing more annoying than getting overly sweet margarita. This place did it right so we had several more! On to the meal:

1) Apps - Surtido De Embotidos and Croquetos De Cangrejo - The crab cakes were amazin...flaky lumps of crab and semi toasted crust. Meat selections were fresh.
2) Main - Halibut A La Vicaina and Churrasco - Impressive cut of Halibut and the sauce was over the top. Churrasco was perfectly cooked and seasoned well!
3) Dessert - Flan De Coco and Creme De Catalana - Alright, by this hour..we were already full but who can resist desert w/ shots of espresso? Again, the way they prepared the finale was delightful...warm and fuzzy :) A perfect end to our food journey.

Our server was amazing. She was friendly, knew the menu and professional. We are very happy that we took the risk and drive outside our comfort zone. We will definitely take another trip back and try dishes from their main menu as our taster experience so far was executed well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Always A Delight”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Bulla Gastrobar is in the heart of restaurant row in downtown Coral Gables. With it's casual entry at the corner of Anastasia Street and Ponce De Leon Blvd, this gem which is based in the culinary world of northern Spain is an easy win for lunch or dinner. Essentially this is a small plate or tapas experience, though there are indeed full entrees. The cooking comprises the wonders of spanish sauces and seasoning with some entertaining deviations per chef. We prefer the tapas route. And more to the point the Tuna Tartare. It's top drawer. Ripertesque. But that's getting a little ahead....

The full bar offers all manner of exotic drinks. We enjoy the draft beers and the amazing sangria. An introduction to the menu is offered by the friendly servers, and well worth a listen. Over several visits in a short period of time you cut to the chase and prepare for a procession of taste treats. Unless you request, the foods plates are served one at a time and carefully orchestrated by the servers, which often allows two or more diners to sample a wide variety of the chef's fixins.
The lunch and dinner menus differ slightly but three or four dishes per person would do the trick for most. The Andalusia gaszpacho is a virtual cornucopia of fresh vegetable tastes wrapped into one cool and creamy mix. Serrano Ham and the smoked sausages are good for starters as well. The cheese plates are both traditional and blends: well worth savoring as you await the main (small) plates.
Here Bulla's kitchen shines with delightful and creative fare ranging from grilled pork to sauteed shrimp, from veal and pork meatballs to crispy potato cubes. Each stands alone. Each is great in combination. Let your server suggest...
The regular entrees are also remarkable. The churrasco plate, and grilled organic salmon are superb. Suckling pig with oyster mushrooms is a favorite.

Lunch sandwiches are SIZABLE and tasty. The pan seared pork loin and grilled chicken breast won't disappoint.

Bulla has earned a well deserved reputation and become a staple in the wild and wonderful world of Coral Gables culinary destinations. It's a bit pricey. But considering the level of food and service it's also a bit worth it. Enjoy

Reservations on the weekends and/or weekday happy hour would be wise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulla Gastrobar also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Bulla Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing