We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quirky and good”
Review of Route 9 - CLOSED

Route 9
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Navarre & Majorca
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small, quirky and good”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the very definition of a small, high quality restaurant that relies on word of mouth. The owners are former culinary students who started this place 3 years ago and have been cranking out excellent food. It is small but has a very good, reasonably priced wine list. For a relatively small menu they have a good number of excellent fish entrees. Their daily specials are almost always worth trying. The chocolate brioche bread pudding is my dessert of choice. The service is excellent and you never feel rushed. They act like they genuinely appreciate the business which is a nice change today.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I just had another great meal at Route 9. This is my fourth time at the restaurant. I went with a group of six so I was able to try many dishes. For appetizers we shared the fig and burrata crostini, the pulled pork arepas, and the gnocchi mac and cheese (which is a side dish but we had as starter) Everything was delicious but the gnocchi stood out. Very light and fluffy. For entree I had my usual favorite: pappardelle with short rib. As always pasta cooked to perfection and a perfect ratio of meat to pasta. As always, the service was friendly and attentive. The Coral Gables area is getting a lot of chain restaurants and it is nice to have one owned by people that are always in the restaurant, cooking and attending to guests.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A tasty bistro in coral gables”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Comfortable and centric; modern yet cozy. Mouthwateringly fresh salmon in a creative bowl. Chef Andreu congratulations

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem...”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a great brunch experience at Route 9. This place has a great homie, neighborhood place kinda feel, and the food did not disappoint. Also, the service was on point. I had the American Benny... An original take on eggs benedict, with a homemade biscuit (instead of the traditional English muffin), bacon and pulled pork. It was delicious, as were the home fries, which were nicely seasoned. My boyfriend had an egg sandwich on a biscuit also, which was also yummy! The homemade biscuits are a nice touch. They have bottomless mimosas for brunch for $20, and the maple bacon sticky bun is a must try! Looking forward to returning for dinner... Nice craft beer selection as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank malvarez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI,FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food in a cool place”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have been to this location twice. Once for a romantic dinner and another for a big celebration for a birthday. Food is always amazing and service is great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 9 also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing