We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable bed, good mid range hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed, good mid range hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I spent a very comfortable night here. Rooms were clean and tidy and quiet. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great for miracle mile if you after some high end shopping. I did not eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food
Convenience to for the airport as long as you are traveling out of rush hour

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Callymac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Greetings Callymac5!

Thank you for your gift of feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our lovely Coral Gables neighborhood. We hope to see you again should your travels return you to Miami! Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    252
    122
    48
    35
See reviews for
145
171
35
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
F. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here a few years back for Valentine’s day and really enjoyed it. Going back, not much had changed but the rooms have definitely aged a bit. The carpets in the halls were very dirty and the cushions on the seats in the rooms were also stained. We were here for a wedding so I saw many rooms of my family members and they all had similar issues. The AC in my room 503 didn't work and when we called and asked Engineering to come fix it they never did. We returned from the wedding at 2am and was offered to move rooms...at 2am? No thanks. We stayed in the room and as a service recovery the removed our valet charges, that was nice and we appreciated it. (The valet is $26.00 per night.)

Beware of the valet here, my brand new car (literally 3 days old) came back with what looked like a sharp key scratch along the trunk. Similar to what other reviewers have written, it looked like it was a “keyed” on purpose…very disappointing.

The snacks in the lobby during the evening were a nice touch and the ladies at the Front Desk were very friendly and helpful. Unlike the monstrous Night Auditor who was rude, unfriendly, and lazy. On numerous nights we found him lounging on the sofas chatting with the Valet guy and seemed almost bothered by our questions.

The area of the hotel was very nice, in close walking distance to Starbucks and other eateries. I love Coral Gables, and love the Westin Brand but would probably look to stay somewhere else next time I'm in the area. I wish I had a chance to try Sushi Samba while I was there but didn't get to unfortunately.

Room Tip: Room 226 has a balcony, 503 AC wasn't working properly, Rooms on 2nd floor are on the pool deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelInnsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello HotelInnsider,

Thank you for gracing us with your feedback. We are delighted to share with you that we will be undergoing a renovation beginning in Mid-July which will give our property a much deserved refresh, including the carpets and furniture you mentioned. As per our previous conversations please rest assure that we will be counseling the associate you spoke to to ensure that all of our employees make our guests feel at home. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, please feel free to contact me at dwelch@westincoralgables.com and I will truly see to it that your stay is flawless. Stay Inspired, D. Welch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Really good experience! Is really an amazing hotel. The Grand Staircase and the Colonnade Rotunda are impressive. My favourite place in the hotel is the pool and its columned gazebo. Very professional staff. Very good organization. Perfect for business hotel. Anyhow good for anyone who wants to see the luxury and the nightlife of Coral Gables.
Very comfortable the room, big bathroom. Near very important streets. No lack of anything in the neighborhood.
Could be better the gym in the fitness center and the wi-fi connection is free only in the lobby.
I got a good economic offer otherwise it is not cheap!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davykawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello Davykawa,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We here at The Westin Colonnade truly strive to shine our best for all of our guests and ensure that they enjoy all aspect of our hotel and neighborhood. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we would deighted to assist in making your future stays just as flawless. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The people were nice and room was clean but after check out they charged my credit card twice for a larger amount then the actual bill and then charged me again another $50 for a supposed hold fee until we check out but got charged the fee AFTER we checked out...wow...they cannot be trusted with a credit or a debit card. My friend with an adjoining room paid cash at check out and never got charged that so called hold fee at time of check out....I did call and today is a holiday so I have to wait till tomorrow to call (although they charged me on a holiday) and then it will take 48 hrs to take the charged amounts off...meanwhile...that money is being held and unusable until it comes of my credit cart IF you are to ever go to this place..heed the warning......PAY CASH ONLY!! THEY CANNOT BE TRUSTED WITH YOUR CARD!!

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking distances...request room near elevators.....they don't have elevator...
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't have any thoughts on this............ok, it won't except this review unless this area is at least 50 characters.....SO here it is....50+
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SzumskiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello Ms. SzumskiD,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our apologies for any confusion on your charges. I have pulled both of your reservation receipts and will be working on this to see where we might have fallen short. Rest assure that we will be contacting you shortly to correct any mistakes that may have been made. Aside from that we truly hope you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the heart of Coral Gables and if that location suits the reason for your visit then this is certainly an excellent choice for your stay. There are tons of great restaurants within easy walking distance, Miracle Mile is a fun, happening street, and it's a very easy trip to/from the airport. The service is definitely the highlight of the Westin -- valet, front desk, room service, concierge, housekeeping, they were all helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable.

The problem with the placed is that it wasn't built as a hotel and that makes for an awkward layout. The "entrance" is off a narrow two-lane street without a driveway which makes it very difficult and stressful to pull up in front and drop your bags off. Getting your car during a busy time of day is similarly difficult; but I want to emphasize that the guys do a terrific job under these conditions. You don't walk enter the hotel lobby but take an escalator to the next floor and then walk back to the small check-in desk. Not a problem, just unusual. The desk was very helpful in getting us situated and helped straighten out some confusion. The rooms were nice but in general the place really needs the renovation they have planned for this summer. Be aware that some of the 5th floor junior suites are duplexes with a very steep spiral staircase going up to the sleeping area -- not good for my 80 year-old mother who immediately turned around and asked for a different room. But the pool area is a nice place to hang out with very comfortable sitting areas and ample shade for those who don't want it. And the local restaurant scene is really good (try Season's 52).

Would I go back to the Westin after the reservation? Most likely depending on the point of the trip. If they can bring it up to the quality it deserves it will really be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Careful about the fifth floor duplex junior suites with steep spiral staircase -- not good for the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEF303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Greetings MEF303,

Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for your kind words on our service, we truly strive to make sure that all of our guests feel as at home as possible and that truly begins with friendly smiles and a willingness to help. I am delighted to hear that our Front desk was able to fix the room confusion. We hope to see you again should your travels return you to Miami. Stay Inspired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here many times for a regular week-long work event. The staff are amazing and the location is great for a conference. Great shopping, restaurants, salons & conveniences all within a few minutes walk. Glad to hear about the upcoming renovation - the common areas are gorgeous and the rooms are all nicely sized and furnished.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Greetings Anne H,

Thank you for your kind words! Our staff truly strive to make every guest feel as at home as possible! I am glad to see that you were told about our renovation plans. We are excited to refresh our property and give our guest an even more rejuvenating stay. Should your travels return you to Miami, we would be delighted to see you again. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Luxury hotel, nice service, professionnal, very nice room, very professionnal front desk greeting people with hot and cold drinks plus fruits on a nearby table. Only issue is the parking if you come with a car. It will cost you 26$ a night, thru the hotel, which i did. The car came back with a scratch on the boot, as if someone had scratched it with a key or something sharp. Weird...i realized after leaving, so got no explanation. Not much to do in Coral Gables, but it's a beautiful town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kondratieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinColonnade, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello Kondratieff,

Thank you for gracing us with your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay was refreshing and that your enjoyed everything our lovely neighborhood of Coral Gables has to offer. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we would be delighted to have you again. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables

Property: Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables
Address: 180 Aragon Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonnade, Coral Gables is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing