We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too much "Wait" time for the elevator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Way too much "Wait" time for the elevator”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The standard is certainly below Westin quality. The hotel needs a major facelift. We were staying for a family wedding and I was able to get a much better rate on my own rather than the group rate. Even the wedding party cancelled their original "special group" rate to get a reduced rate on-line. More than that, there were only 2 working elevators to get to the rooms and we waited for nearly 30 minutes going up and down as every time it stopped, the elevator was full. Despite profuse apologies from the management at check out, the damage was done. It was a frustrating experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Kym S,

Thank you for your gift of feedback. We hope your family wedding was flawless. We apologize for any inconvenience, we here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make all of our guest feel as comfortable as possible. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we hope to see you again and allow us to elevate your stay to its highest potential.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    286
    129
    55
    38
See reviews for
178
196
42
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Your standard Westin service/rooms, but, unlike standard Westin, the crowd is younger and more touristy. So, get used to 2AM running in the corridors. Sushi-samba restaurant is at the moment the only dining option I think - there's much better sushi (and other Japanese fare) across the street at Izakaya.

Room Tip: Go as far away from the elevators as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmnj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Nmnj88,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any disruptive noise your expereinced during your stay. Our front desk staff is available 24 hours a day to calm and disturbances you may experience. In SUSHISAMBA, our newest addition to The Westin Colonnade, you will find a unique blend of Japanese, Brazilian and Peruvian cuisine, music and design. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we would be delighted to welcome you back to elevate your stay and inspire you.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Hotel is very nice, rooms were clean and comfortable. Service was not as good as another hotel I have stayed at in the area. The housekeeping staff was wonderful, and the woman working outside at the parking desk was very helpful, although I do not remember her name. This hotel has a great location, but as far as service goes, it could take a few lessons from one of its close competitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakefront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Lakefront,

Thank you for your kind words! We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guest feel as tranquil as possible. I have passed your kind words along to the proper management as a key to empowering our great staff. Should your travels bring you back to Miami, we would be delighted to assist your in making great memories.


Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel parking was pricey at $28/day, but there is parking on the street several streets over. We enjoyed our stay but the room provided had a amazing view of a brick wall of the adjoining building. The location was nice, off the beaten path but still accessible to great restaurants and clubs. We enjoy a leisurely stroll or two during the breezy nights to take in the local vibes. Even though we did not spend a lot of time checking out the hotel amenities, I'd give this hotel a 7 overall (above average). Close to a few shopping outlets and malls, and a short drive away from the beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of downtown or facing the north. The rooms along the backside all come w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello W T,

Thank you for your gift of feedback. It is through reviews that we are able to inspire our staff to elevate a guest’s stay. We apologize for your less than perfect view. Should your travels bring you back to Miami for your next anniversary or any special occasion we would be delighted to see you again and elevate your stay to its fullest potential, feel free to contact our SPG Guest Relations Ambassador before your next stay.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I continue to stay here often, but...
1. Hotel parking is $26 per day even though two municipal lots are within a block of the hotel and cost $12 per 24 hours. Paying both the parking staff and hotels porters for bags is ridiculous, but continues. I roll my bags from the municipal lots.
2. The hotel breakfasts, a strong point, are now discontinued in favor of SushiSamba, I was there the first day and waited 45 minutes for a poorly prepared omelette and not-too-good coffee. The breakfast coupon will not allow juice $5, coffee $3 and oatmeal $12 without exceeding the $18 allowance. There are few healthy options but lots of pseudo-chic things. Skip it and go elsewhere for breakfast. Sad.
3. The strong points remain: it is beautiful; the rooms are newly sanitized so no more musty doors; the new fitness facility is basic but works well; unbeatable customer service; free sparkling wine in the early evening; free coffee and breads in the AM.

All in all I've adapted to the idiosyncrasies and continue to enjoy the hotel. It is sad about the breakfast and parking, but the hotel has made it clear they've no intention of improving either of those. Will I shift to the Hyatt? I do not yet know.

Room Tip: High floors away from the central core are quieter, especially on weekends when there are weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spending one night passing through to Key West. The hotel is very beautiful as soon as you step inside and throughout to the room. We are SPG gold member and have stayed at many Westin hotels. I have to say that this one is on our top 5. Our room was specious and all the amenities was perfect. The only negative thing I experienced was that I didn't know that we had to pay for parking and had acted surprised. The lady who checked us in became very snooty and proceeded to tell us that everyone pays for parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello pamseattle,

Thank you for your kind words. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to impress all guests. We apologize for the confusion on parking. Coral Gables is the heart of the business district and public parking isn't very common. None the less I will touch base with our front desk and assure that when communicating this information that it is clear and explained in a better manner. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Miami.

Be Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

As others have mention, the Coral Gables location can't be beat. The hotel is a stone's throw from the restaurants and shopping of the Miracle Mile and not far from several major office buildings.

The property itself is just OK. It occupies several floors of an office building and there is a long walk to some of the rooms. The hotel is going through some renovations and a few of the rooms (esp. the Westin Workout rooms) are nice, but many could use a serious update.

Service has been pretty solid on the basics (room service, getting the car out, etc) but the concierge has not impressed and the hotel doesn't really go above and beyond...

Overall, a solid hotel for the area but definitely not worth a special trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello Biztraveller98,


Thank you for your gift of feedback. We here at the Westin Colonnade strive to make every guests experience special. We do have a great new Westin Workout room which also comes with Westin work out gear that can be loaned to the guests upon request. Thank you for your kind words about our room service and valet. Rest assure that this will be shown to the proper management to use as tools for improvement. If your travels should bring you back to Miami, We would be delighted to see you again.

Be Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,362 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Hotel St. Michel
#6 of 12 in Coral Gables
242 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: 180 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing