We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in quiet Coral Gables--not for experiencing Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is very pretty, and the rooms are clean. We had an accessible room (we did not request one), which provided plenty of room for our family of four, but it was not entirely practical (no tub, no closet). The furniture was a bit worn here and there, but overall, the room was lovely. The staff is very friendly, but the concierge did not always have the most relevant info. Twice, he had to look up information on the computer regarding local restaurants--aren't that many, so you would think he'd know something first-hand. I could have used my computer as well; I wanted his "expert" advice. Also, you should definitely rent a car if you want to get anywhere--the staff knew little about public transport, and taxis were not reliable when we were out somewhere. Despite having called the hotel to ask them to send a cab three times, we were left waiting at the University of Miami for over an hour and a half. We could have walked back to the hotel in that time, but no one at the hotel suggested that as an option. Essentially, this hotel is lovely, with a very beautiful pool area, in a fancy neighborhood with dress shops and restaurants, but not much else. Would recommend for a wedding or a night away for local residents. However, be aware that if you are staying there when there are weddings, it will be VERY noisy at night. We were near the elevator and the noise at night was constant. I must mention that the restaurant staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear proofed,
Thank you for choosing the Westin Colonnade Coral Gables as your escape during your recent trip to Coral Gables. I am so sorry to hear of the inconveniences you had while trying to get a taxi back to our hotel. Your gift of feedback is treasured and will be used towards improvement to provide our guests the most personal attention.
If your travels should ever return you to our property, please contact me directly at Rsoto@westincoralgables.com so I may personally ensure a flawless return.
Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 866 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We got a deal on priceline for $100. We took a cab from airport for $18 and went without a car. If you enjoy shopping and nightclubs, its a good spot to stay. The neighborhood outside Miracle Mile was quiet and safe, we enjoyed walking around. We got a free upgrade to a two-level suite which was really cool and we very much enjoyed. The pool and whirlpool were not heated, probably because it is hot most of the year. No freebies, but a nice room for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear anjapanda,
We thank you for your kind review regarding our Westin Colonnade Hotel. I’m glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Bi-Level Suite. Our Team takes pride in ensuring our guests are able to relax and unwind in our beautiful accommodations while enjoying all that the Coral Gables area has to offer. We invite you to join us again on your next trip to Miami.
Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed at the Westin Colonnade five times and always find it a wonderful experience. The beds are dreamy-comfortable, the staff really nice, the food good .... and we love the location for both business and pleasure travel.

We really enjoy Tarpon Bend Restaurant just down the street, productions at the Miracle Theater, movies and art at the Coral Gables Museum, Books & Books (where on one night we were there a wonderful jazz band played in the courtyard as we enjoyed a late-night snack and drink).

The mettle of the staff was tested on our last visit (mid-January 2013) when I left my iPad in the room. I didn't realize it was missing until we were just boarding flight home. Given the quality of the staff, I knew it would be safe.

Immediately upon my realization I had left it behind, my husband called the hotel spoke with Rachel Guerra at the front desk, who coordinated with housekeeping supervisor Maggie Flores, to locate my iPad and ship it back to us. We live outside the US and provided our address and our FedEx account # ... they did the rest and were as gracious and efficient as could be. My iPad is safely home with me now.

My husband has business in Miami in February and has booked a week at the Westin Colonnade. I will join him his last two nights there. We look forward to our sixth stay.

PS Four-legged guests are welcome, too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanetBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear PlanetBarbados,
Thank you for your review, and the nice comments regarding our great staff, especially Rachel Guerra and Maggie Flores, I will pass the information to our Management team. I’m pleased to hear that your iPad was recovered and returned to you efficiently. I’m glad you had a pleasant stay with us, and enjoyed our proximity to the many restaurants and shops. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon if your travels brings you to the Coral Gables Area.
Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved this hotel and will stay there again when we go to Miami. It is close to the airport and located right by the Miracle Mile. We found lots of fun bars and great restaurants within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The staff was great to deal with and very helpful. The workout facility and outdoor pool were great. Our room had a small balcony which was a bonus. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLbeerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear CLbeerguy,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your comments on the level of service you received from our staff. I’m glad you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our proximity to the many restaurants and shops. We look forward to your next stay here at the Westin Colonnade Coral gables.
Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel looking for a nice, comfortable place to stay while visiting for a University of Miami vs University of Maryland Basketball game...the place was wonderful!
The welcome from the Valet and Front Desk was warm - making you feel like they were expecting you and looking forward to your stay. All employees we came in contact with were helpful and seemed to truly understand what hospitality is all about. Starwood does a great job in training their staff.
Although there were weddings throughout the weekend - they were not at all intrusive with the non-wedding guests (they did a lovely job!).
Next time in Coral Gables, we will definitely stay at the Westin Colonnade!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear dsherm1,
We want to thank you for your great comments regarding the Hotel and the service from our staff, which will be shared with our team. We hope to see you again very soon at the Westin Colonnade Hotel on your next visit.
Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables was awesome! The front desk staff was helpful and friendly the concierge was attentive - but not too much. The rooms were awesome - sitting room downstairs and then a spiral staircase up to the sleeping area and bathroom - I felt like a princess! I will stay here whenever I have a trip to Miami - I was sorry to only have the room booked for one night this weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Kim1028
Thank you for your kind review about our customer service and our front desk staff. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Bi- Level suite. We look forward to make your next visit with us a memorable one. We hope to see you again very soon at the Westin Colonnade Hotel.
Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I give the staff commendations for good service, but the hotel lobby, restaurant and rooms were too cold. Top that off with a luke warm shower and it wasn't a pleasant stay. Housekeeping staff were quite loud in the hallway and knocked on the door twice in the morning before we checked out. Internet connection was inconsistent.

The Front Desk staff, parking and concierge were all good, courteous and polite. Our bill was adjusted for the lack of hot water and sporadic internet connection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinC0ralGables, Manager at Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Debannie,
I want to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments about our Front Desk, Parking and Concierge staff. I’m so sorry to hear that your stay was any less than our # 1 goal, which is to not only meet, but exceed your expectations. With your comments I will be going back to my management team so we can utilize to improve upon the service we strive to provide.
If your travels should ever return us to our hotel please feel free to contact me at rsoto@westincoralgables.com so I may personally see to the flawlessness of your stay.

Be Well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,455 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Hotel St. Michel
#6 of 12 in Coral Gables
249 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#20 of 128 in Miami
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Address: 180 Aragon Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range: $196 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel is centrally located in the Coral Gables business district. We offer a retreat from the rigors of travel, yet still convenient to business, shopping, and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Colonnade Coral Gables, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Colonnade Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Westin Colonnade Coral Gables
Westin Coral Gables
Coral Gables Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing