We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tasty Mexican Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talavera

Talavera
Reserve with OpenTable
Talavera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 321 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Giralda Ave.
Description: Mexico.... home of Talavera, the unique fine art pottery from the 16th Century, native of the city of Puebla. This genuine and refined Mexican spirit of the Talavera art sets the ground for the spirit of our menu. From the "Huarache" grill, a series of delicate dishes served on a corn tortilla base, to a variety of regional specialties from Sonora to Oaxaca, from Michoacan to Puebla, from Jalisco to Yucatan. Talavera, the art of a genuine and refined taste of Mexico.
Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to find authentic Mexican food in Florida since most of the restaurants try to attract the palate of the non-Hispanic local, but this is not the case. Talavera has tasty food and their appetizers are the best. We liked it very much although the prices on the main dishes are expensive for the portions. Service was average but can be better for the type of restaurant (the server sometimes disappeared and did not make a personal connection. Just did his job).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolafromflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    98
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to have lunch at this restaurant and took advantage of the miami spics menu. They have very authentic options and the food was very tasty. The tlacoyo, chile relleno and dulce de keche crepes were delicious. We will go back :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food is always good and authentic. The atmosphere is great. The margaritas are delicious!
If you want authentic good Mexican food try Talavera!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sbtjun28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ice cream and chocolate cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The desert was to die for, the chocolate cake was just perfect, not too sweet and the ice cream I believe was made in the restaurant. Again, not too sweet. The service was great and the food as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most authentic and best Mexican food I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from Talavera Mexican restaurant in Coral Gables. I have to say that it is by far the BEST and most authentic Mexican food I have had in Miami. I had the cochinita pibil, a classic Yucatecan pork preparation, it was spot on. The rice that they serve is not your classic sudo-Mexican orange rice, it was white with peas and incredibly flavorful. The service was excellent and the waiter was incredibly knowledgable of all the food. Try the "Chelada" which is a salt rimmed glass with ice and lime juice in which you pour your beer, then drink it through a straw. Try it with a Corona. It's the only place that I have asked for this particular drink and the waiter doesn't need an explanation as to what I want. WOW!!!!! all I can say is don't miss out on this place. I will be back again and again when I miss Mexico. Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaJohnChelemBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talavera also viewed

 

Been to Talavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing