We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Mexican in the Heart of Coral Gables” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talavera

Talavera
Reserve with OpenTable
Talavera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 320 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Giralda Ave.
Description: Mexico.... home of Talavera, the unique fine art pottery from the 16th Century, native of the city of Puebla. This genuine and refined Mexican spirit of the Talavera art sets the ground for the spirit of our menu. From the "Huarache" grill, a series of delicate dishes served on a corn tortilla base, to a variety of regional specialties from Sonora to Oaxaca, from Michoacan to Puebla, from Jalisco to Yucatan. Talavera, the art of a genuine and refined taste of Mexico.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Mexican in the Heart of Coral Gables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife took me to Talavera on Friday evening for an early Father’s Day celebration, and we both agreed she made a wise choice. We had the $29 Coral Gables Restaurant Week pris fixe menu with appetizer, entrée, and dessert, all of which were very good. In fact, she decided her margarita was the best she has ever had. Service was efficient and friendly without being obtrusive, and a number of employees not directly involved in serving us smiled and spoke pleasantly at various times. We were not halfway through the meal when we both said that this is definitely a place we will come again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    89
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comins, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my meal here tonight. My meal was absolutely delicious. Service was average, but not bad by any means. Salsa was excellent- the green spicer of the two had a refreshing kick.
Atmosphere is perfect for business or family. Not to loud, younger crowd.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very expensive for "okay" food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went to Talavera with two friends for lunch. Parking, as it is in most places in Coral Gables, was horrible. Contrary to the experience of other reviewers, service at Talavera when I went was very good. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The food was okay- not bad but certainly not extraordinary. There was nothing memorable about this place ... except perhaps the $190+ lunch bill.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenscoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch From Hell !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

A friend & I recently lunched at Talavera & was surprised by the terrible service, deceiptive lunch specials ! They had lunch specials that inlcluded a drink, main course & dessert. They charged at the end all of the foods that were part of the special lunch menu. The service people were on their phones & not attendiing to the customers. The meal was not good. I have not been there since a year ago & am not returning !! Do not go!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamamia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch specials are a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Went for lunch. Their lunch special at $13 was reasonable, and a good value. Service was good and prompt. I had the cochinita pibil huarache, which is seasoned, slow cooked, pulled pork on a toast resembling a sandal (huarache). The pork was tender, albeit a bit salty. The toast it sat on was not impressive. Also had a margarita on the rocks in a salt rimmed glass which was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talavera also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Talavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing