We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and food”

Sawa Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #59 of 353 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant features an exciting dining concept that merges innovative sushi and a contemporary Mediterranean Fusion Menu, with a hip, chic, modern design and an upbeat lounge-like & Hookah Bar atmosphere.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were a group. Enjoyed very much the meal, the service, the atmosphere and the reasonable price. The new chef was all this restaurant needed to become perfect. We had a variety of dishes of Mediterranean and Japanese recipes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ABallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the food!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The food is delicious and the atmosphere is very romantic. Great place for couples.
Fiy: Sit outside if weather allows, really nice and romantic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great outside dining in The village of Merrick Park”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This restaurant is located in the luxury open air shopping mall 'the village of Merrick park'. This restaurant offers a combination of Asian and Italian food. Service and food are great. Good wine choices. You can have your dinner outside which is nice and quiet. You don't feel the husle and busle from the city. We loved it here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect date night!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Just had an amazing dinner at Sawa, the ambiance, service and food are all excellent! We were lucky they were offering the Miami Spice menu, we had the Greek platter and salmon tiraditos for starters, we had the shrimp and quinoa and salmon and filet mignon skewers for our entree, finished the night with a peach pannacotta and the most delicious ice cream ever! The drinks were also perfect! You MUST visit SAWA, call ahead and check to see when is their next belly dance show, as they offer shows and also have hookahs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank protreats_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“My favorite Restaurant...ever!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I celebrated my 19th birthday here with a group of friends and loved eating dinner in their cozy cabanas and couches. I decided to go back with my boyfriend to eat one night

Let me make it clear that this restaurant is recommended for outdoor seating only. Indoor is crowded. Outside its extremely romantic and cozy. You also get to see a belly dace show at 10pm.

While you wait for your meal they give you some delicious hummus and pita chips to munch on. My boyfriend ordered the lobster bisque as an appetizer and it was spectacular! It wasn't overly salty (like in many other places) and it had chunks of lobster. It was perfect!

For dinner I had the volcano roll and my boyfriend had the Sawa rock n roll roll. Oh my heavens!! It was perfect! I dream about their volcano rolls. Once you have this roll mother sushi place can compete. It's truly the best (both rolls were under$14).

For dessert we had the passion fruit panda cotta. Oh my heavens they did it again! Pure bliss!
This place was perfect! And if you read some of my other reviews you know that I am picky when it comes to restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sd902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawa Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Sawa Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing