We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hookah belly dancer and decent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawa Restaurant & Lounge

Sawa Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #64 of 325 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant features an exciting dining concept that merges innovative sushi and a contemporary Mediterranean Fusion Menu, with a hip, chic, modern design and an upbeat lounge-like & Hookah Bar atmosphere.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hookah belly dancer and decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I love the variety of dining options they had- the lamb was a little gamey but good. Love the hookah and the aurprise belly dancer at night - recommend ober the other boring restaurants

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    40
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sawa is a blend of Japanese and middle eastern cuisine. Sitting outside in the Village of Merrick Park is wonderful. I found the appetizers especially good as are the happy hour prices and drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiamiLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a good sushi....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food is really average, beyond average, and it is not a good sushi and sashimi by any stretch of imagination. It do not know what type of sushi the restaurant believes they serve, but somebody out to tell them that they are very mistaken.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelwellcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A (good) surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we decided to have a luncheon at Merrick Park, we were attracted by this restaurant's terrasse on a square.
We took the $19 three course menu.
It happened to be flawless.
We had "Jamon croquette" as a starter, then a hamburger with mushrooms/onions and our dessert was "Duce de leche" a banana with ice cream on top. Everything was tasting good, cooked to our request.
With 2 large bottles of Saratoga sparkling water, we ended with a $52 check for two.
The service was very attentive, helpful and friendly.
We will definitely go back. This is a best buy in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for Brunch with the Girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Sawa this past Sunday for Miami Spice. The food was definitely good for the price point and our server was very attentive. Did I mention 2 for 1 Bellinis? You can't beat that anywhere. I would suggest the Strawberry and the Passion Fruit.. the Lychee is also an interesting experience. The Dulce de Leche Banana Spring Roll is worthy of the gods.

We will definitely be back. Enthusiastic 3/12 to 4 stars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristiweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawa Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Sawa Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing