We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL”

Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$342.00*
and up
Miami Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden is among the world's best tropical botanic gardens. Here you will find internationally renowned collections of cycads, flowering trees, tropical fruits, vines, aroids and endangered species, which provide a living laboratory for scientists, and the opportunity of discovery for everyone. In addition, Fairchild has the largest palm collection in the U.S. and is also the keeper of the National Palm Collection as designated by the American Public Gardens Associations. With its beautiful paths, vistas and outstanding horticultural displays, Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden provides every visitor with an unforgettable experience.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you enjoy botanical gardens, this is for you. The grounds are vast and replete with numerous tress, plants fruits trees,and flowers. The paths are lovely to walk and the gift shop has a tiny area where one can taste some of the fruits of the trees. Don't go in the summer as the heat makes this outdoor venture completely miserable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginia1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    200
    32
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Super beautiful”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This location was super beautiful. The tram tour was interesting and definitely worthwhile since it is included in admission price. The day was made even more awesome because we saw some green iguanas and an alligator while we were there!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EricaK135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Tropical Indeed”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great botanical garden, well kept many different trees, from all over the country and the world. Attendants also very nice

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank longaray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish I had more time there”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Beautifully laid out and maintained botanical gardens. Quite a tropical paradise. Needed much more time than I had. Tram ride alone was 45 minutes but well worth the time at the start of our visit for an overview and the entertaining and informative banter.

Lots of knowledgeable and pleasant volunteers to answer questions everywhere.

Loved the butterfly garden. Excellent cycad collection if you appreciate that. Saw a baobab for the first time.

I had only seen a lot of stuff growing here in a greenhouse environment before, as this stuff would not make it through the winter in the northeast where I live.

The recommended length of visit I gave is for your average person. I you are a botanical garden junkie like me, plan on spending all day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mootle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Visited with friends coming off of a cruise”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have been to this beautiful l botanical l garden twice. The first time was attending a wedding held there a couple of years ago - at the end of the day. What a place to get married at. Being with nature in a beautiful l setting by water, you couldn't ask for more.Guests were taken to the setting via the trolleys. The second trip was earlier this year when I picked up old friends who were coming off of a cruise and heading home and had a few hours to kill in-between. We rode the trolley through the sprawling park. Simply love the beautify of nature here. Birds, butterflies, flowers, bushes, groomed paths, exhibitions, water. Really, really a place to take your time and walk around, ride the trolley, sit and breath in nature, take photos and just enjoy being surrounded by beauty. The gift shop has a variety of items to purchase for yourself or for others - all ages. They hadn't completed a food area yet when I was there so ordered from a trailer and sat on picnic tables which was fine. A must go to place for people who appreciate the beauty of nature and vegetation native fo South Florida.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing