We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WILD AND NATURAL BEAUTY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matheson Hammock Park

Matheson Hammock Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WILD AND NATURAL BEAUTY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A scenic park featuring a man-made atoll pool,flushed naturally with the tidal action of adjacent Biscayne Bay.This park is amazing with coral stone buildings, a marina, fishing tackle shop, boat launch ramps, gas and diesel fuel, and wetslips. The beach sea breeze,mangroves and nature trails make it a great place to enjoy the day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishnaArango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    95
    35
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relax with beach and liters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

When you don't want to drive all the way to Key Biscayne or Miami beach, Mathewson is close and a great alternative. There is an atoll pool for little kids, life guards , great views and on windy days, tons of kiters to entertain you with tricks. Great breeze to cool you off, too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jolie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Miamiland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

First, there's the water, Biscayne Bay and an inlet sea that is the BEST beach EVER! Never crowded and just beautiful. I've seen two weddings there just by chance. I love to watch the windsurfers and the birds. Then, in great contrast, there's the Mangrove forest with a walking path. I can just lose myself in that place. You have to see it! Too bad, no dogs. I always want to share it with my buddies. Also, a nice fish restaurant, Red Fish, that is excellent when it's good, but a little uneven.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank twdchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Experience at Red Fish Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place to dine, this is an excellent option. Good restaurant and nice view to the lagoon and to the beach. After the dinner, walk around the lagoon

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntjeMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem on Biscayne Bay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A beautiful Miami-Dade County Park. One of the few places you can drive right to shores of Biscayne Bay. One of the best views around of the downtown Miami skyline. Great for boat watching, walking, jogging, and swimming. This is not an ocean beach but a man made beach with an atoll pool. Bay water flows in and out with the tide. Makes it safe for small kids to swim and splash. Pool has small bay fish and little crabs etc. There are lifeguards when the beach is open. Restrooms (incl handicapped) nearby. Outdoor showers and changing rooms. Bring a picnic or get a burger from the privately run take out window on the beach during beach hours.
At night the beach and the take out window are closed and The Red Fish Grill opens its dining rooms and patio for upscale mostly seafood dining.
Matheson also has a large marina and boat ramp and a fuel dock with snacks and drinks available.
Can have mosquitos, bring bug spray.
Lots of different sea birds can be seen on the shores and flats off Matheson.
Entry fee is $6.00 per car. Free entry if biking or walking in. Beach is .7 miles from main entrance on Old Cutler Rd. There is a bike path that runs parallel to the main road but it floods at high tide. If biking down the main road you must share the road with cars, trucks and boats being trailered in so take care.
Matheson Hammock Park and Marina is at 9610 Old Cutler Rd, turn east off of Old Cutler Rd onto Matheson Street then drive about .4 miles to the toll booth.
I have been going to Matheson since I was a little kid and my parents before me. It a real tropical gem on Biscayne Bay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shallowminded1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matheson Hammock Park also viewed

 

Been to Matheson Hammock Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing