We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly beach”

Matheson Hammock Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
hekesq
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly beach”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

When we saw atoll beach we thought we were in the wrong place, after seeing all the glowing reviews. So we drove further and didn't see another beach so that was it. It is a small pool where the water comes through little pipes from the ocean. Not nearly enough to clean the water. It was dark green and smelled awful. Most of the people were families with small children because the water is pretty shallow. If your looking for a hip spot this is not it. Also had to pay $5 to get in. After about 45 minutes we couldn't take the dirty water and smell and left. I guess if you wanted to enjoy the other aspects of the park it might be nice, but the beach is horrible. With so many other beaches in the area go somewhere else. We went to Key Biscayne and enjoyed the beach there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hekesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    106
    38
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Matheson Hammock Park”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Whether you want to swim, walk, ride a bike or fish Matheson Hammock Park is the place for you. The small swimming beach is great and is safe with 3 lifeguards. If you park in the first parking lot you can walk in for free or bike in, but to be closer to the beach you have to pay a measly $5 or $6. While we were there recently we even caught the filming of a scene from Burn Notice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FreedomforCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Matheson Hammock Park (MHP) "The Coral Gables Pristine Secret"”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been going to MHP for years to enjoy the beautiful view it offers of Downtown Miami, Key Biscayne and The Bill Boggs Park Lighthouse and last but not Least Stiltsville. We do Aqua Aerobics at the beach lagoon with a view of Biscayne Bay to the South. In the flat water cove which faces the Gable States Homes we practice several other sports such as Stand UP Paddleboarding (SUP), Yoga-Paddleboarding excursions ( Hosted by Paula of Adventure Sports Miami) through mangroves that make you think of some far away rainforest whose silence is only interrupted by the sound of birds and fish and stingrays jumping, as well as Manatees, with lunch stop at the Tree House. On windy days we Kiteboard which is taught by Adventure Sports Miami Kiteboarding School.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lgomez1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids for a low budget activity”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Small, often quiet, family picnic, place to takes kids fishing for the first time.... Best when beach is clean (caution). You can also ride bike through (for free) and enjoy the scenery. Running out of ideas for a date, well you can go kayaking or paddle boarding!

Helpful?
Thank Keylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great park, fun place to walk, ride or swim”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

It's on the bay, great views of Biscayne Bay, downtown Miami and Key Biscayne. Easy to see why this is such a favorite of locals

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteelyDanMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matheson Hammock Park also viewed

 

Been to Matheson Hammock Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing