We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A true Persian delight!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torange Restaurant

Torange Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 325 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A true Persian delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We popped in for a quick lunch and we were not disappointed. The Pomegranate Stew was a winner! Each of us got something a little different and, of course, shared!

This is well worth a visit if you like authentic Persian cuisine and a great value for the money!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank InternationalBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trinidad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, not so great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Loved the food! Having grown up with an Iranian step father who loved cooking, this restaurant reminded me of all the great flavors I had grown to love.
This restaurant had all my favorites Beef kebabs, gormeh sabzi, tahdig, Persian salad all for a fair price of about $10.00 as part of their lunch time buffet. We also sampled their appetizers, their stuffed grape leaves and baba ghanoush, though not a Persian dish, had Persian spices which was unique. These were the best I have ever tasted. Hats off to the chef!
Only disappointment was an unpleasant experience with a waitress. But we do plan to visit again, hopefully with a better experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value and authentic PERSIAN food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a good restaurant if you would like an introduction to Persian food. The decor is simpe but clean with Persian decor on the walls. Its quaint, and quiet during dinner. They don't use a lot of spices in the food--just enough to bring out the natural flavors of the meats. The rice is basmati (same as in Indian restaurants). Try the kababs. I've also heard that the lunch buffet is good but I've only been for dinner. Try the baklava for dessert--it has cardamon in it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ebone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“surprisingly good cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a pretty quiet place with not much of a crowd every time we look in when we ate at the nearby Route 9 (which is great) but we tried it on a whim this week when we were close by. We were very pleasantly surprised.. It is clean and cetainly acceptable but the food was ooutstandingl Our very pleasant waitress (she was lonely) helped answer our questions. I had the lentil soup which was good and the best chopped salad of cucumbers and tomatoes I have ever had (and I have had it in Isreal, Turkey and Greece) It had a lovely dressing that was delightful. My wife had a huge mixed salad which was superb and a wonderful chicken pomegranate stew which was sublime. The flavors were all there but oh so delicate and not overwhelming. We asked for mint tea but the Persians don't do that (yes it is Persian, not Turkish) and our lovely server suggested Persian tea which is packed by Earl Gray but a new taste sensation for us. Delicate but tasty. So we will be back to try out some more dishes. Did I mention it was quite inepensive/reasonable? Thi is a real sleeper just on the edge of the trendy part of Coral Gables. Don't miss it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent food and great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

The sampler for the appetizers is great. Authentic and awesome tasting food. Leave room for some of the tastiest desserts!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torange Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Torange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing