We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk is amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
1 review
“Front desk is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Michelle at the front desk did all she could to make my stay perfect. Very grateful
Wifi was a bit slow but I believe there were many people in the hotel. I stayed 2 nights and had a restful stay. I stayed here years ago and was pleasantly surprised it was still as good. If the front desk wasn't so great I doubt it would have been as good. I would stay again for sure

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    173
    107
    48
    35
See reviews for
173
83
46
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Hotel is located in a great area, taxi's are called immediately when requested and arrive in about five minutes. Beautiful area to relax in by the pool if traveling with young children. Jenny at the front desk is multi talented, Check's in customers while picking up the telephone and doesn't miss greeting a guest walking in through the door. She explains at check In her hours at work if by an chance you need to speak with her and recommended Billy if we had any further questions. The hotel is a great example of textbook service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Billy, Jane, and MIchelle in reception were outstanding. The hotel is clean and staff are all friendly and helpful. Well located along US 1 for shopping at DAdeland Mall or to go to Key Biscayner, Bayside, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, the Keys or Fort Lauderdale, and from to the airport. The pool is well kept and the breakfast staff are kind. There is a convinient store and ample parking. We liked it very much.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guillermobolanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location as it is near the University of Miami Campus. Lots of families staying here as the children (freshman enter a new world). Busy city from what we are used too. Hotel was nice and had plenty of room .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the better finds of our 3 week road trip in the U.S. The room was palatable, amenities including a better than average fitness centre, gorgeous outdoor pool give real value for money.

Above all however is the fantastic service offered and in my case it was a delightful lady called Moira which provided me with not only excellent service in administering my stay there but also helped out extensively in providing advice, information and her own personal insights about what to do and enjoy in Miami. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maytham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables in August 2014. This is an older building that has been cosmetically updated and looks very nice. My room was spacious, clean, and had a balcony overlooking the pool. A very good value for $149. The staff was pleasant and efficient. My only complaint was the cleanliness of the pool. While it looked nice and inviting, once I entered the water I was surrounded by floating bugs and human hair. It looked like the skimmer filter does not work or is not adequate. Kinda grossed me out.

Room Tip: Room 239 overlooks the pool and has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraderJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear TraderJean,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the cleanliness of the pool has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

when i walked in the door it was an amazing atmosphere. Jane and Jenny were very nice and greeted me like as if i were at home. This is my second stay and I love coming here because i am very pleased with everything here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coral Way
Four Points by Sheraton Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Property: Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing