We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, convenient, friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, friendly stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Billy, Jane, and MIchelle in reception were outstanding. The hotel is clean and staff are all friendly and helpful. Well located along US 1 for shopping at DAdeland Mall or to go to Key Biscayner, Bayside, Port of Miami, Coconut Grove, the Keys or Fort Lauderdale, and from to the airport. The pool is well kept and the breakfast staff are kind. There is a convinient store and ample parking. We liked it very much.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guillermobolanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    192
    126
    54
    36
See reviews for
196
90
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location as it is near the University of Miami Campus. Lots of families staying here as the children (freshman enter a new world). Busy city from what we are used too. Hotel was nice and had plenty of room .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is one of the better finds of our 3 week road trip in the U.S. The room was palatable, amenities including a better than average fitness centre, gorgeous outdoor pool give real value for money.

Above all however is the fantastic service offered and in my case it was a delightful lady called Moira which provided me with not only excellent service in administering my stay there but also helped out extensively in providing advice, information and her own personal insights about what to do and enjoy in Miami. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maytham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables in August 2014. This is an older building that has been cosmetically updated and looks very nice. My room was spacious, clean, and had a balcony overlooking the pool. A very good value for $149. The staff was pleasant and efficient. My only complaint was the cleanliness of the pool. While it looked nice and inviting, once I entered the water I was surrounded by floating bugs and human hair. It looked like the skimmer filter does not work or is not adequate. Kinda grossed me out.

Room Tip: Room 239 overlooks the pool and has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraderJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear TraderJean,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the cleanliness of the pool has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

when i walked in the door it was an amazing atmosphere. Jane and Jenny were very nice and greeted me like as if i were at home. This is my second stay and I love coming here because i am very pleased with everything here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found myself with a spacious room, excellent free internet, very good breakfast, and dinner and very conveniently located near Dadeland my favoourite mall in Miami. People were all very kind and service oriented, everything worked fine (batahroom, hot water pressure, bed not so soft, not so hard, cleanness, awakening service, and MOIRA the girl in the front desk was particularly kind and helpful making me some urgent copies i needed with no charge at all. Taxis were called very quickly, fares were OK (not like other hotels which own cabs charge a lot). I recommend this hotel for either family or business trips to Miami, very well located besides.

Room Tip: I asked for a room NOT near elevators, i have had bad experiences in OTHER hotels. They exactly matc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rponce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Awsome menu and dishes; very efficient front desk attendants:Jane and Billy great experience!!!
Keep up the good work!!!!
chef Funes and the waitresses are so kind
resuming it is a nice place to be at

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinicius991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Property: Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146-2904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing