We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel for prices in the area...reasonably” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
bst, tx
2 reviews
“Great hotel for prices in the area...reasonably”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for the price. Request pool area first floor. Great sevice, good value, clean and secure. Area is very crowded but parking lot was safe. Staff was helpful and accomodating. I would stay there again if i go back to coconut grove. I

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htlreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    181
    119
    50
    36
See reviews for
187
85
48
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables ended up being a nice experience. The Hotel is good enough for a few days stay, very conveniently located, with big clean rooms and with very professional and smiling service. Margarita Diaz and May, and the rest of the staff, made my stay very nice. Ideal for University of Miami issues.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here one night. Service was good - hotel room was okay but for the outrageous price of over $250 per night pretty bad!!! We were at the mercy of them since no other rooms available in the area!!! WIFI was not good at all. Bathroom was very very small!!!! Not going to recommend for more than a one night stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear engrose,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the perfect score for Service you received. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Today I left this hotel after a two night stay on 2/8/14. Staff was nice at the reception when we arrived and gave us a great room with the view of the pool. Everything was downhill thereafter. We had placed a privacy notice/ do not disturb on the door, This was the hotel provided hanger. The next morning, a maintenance person knocked on the door about 10:45am. I was about to take a shower and in my underwear when he said something about the lock. I had no problems with the lock and he pushed the lever up and down. I had the do not disturb notice on the door. I immediately called the front desk and told them when I placed a do not disturb notice on a door, that I wanted privacy. It was a strange event, and neither me nor my friend felt safe.Management said they would get back to me AND I heard nothing, So I called about 11:00pm that evening and the front desk said they had not heard anything about this complaint, and promised two breakfast voucher under the door. I woke up this morning and there were no vouchers. We were getting ready to leave, and before check out time, the supervisor asked whether we were leaving. I though check out time was noon, but it was 11am, and she knocked on the door before shortly before 11 am. The do not disturb was again on the door.
When I returned the key cards, I took the do not disturb hanger with me, and asked them what this meant to the hotel. I told them there was an issue of privacy, and that they violated this. They should have called by phone if there was an issue, but did not do so. When I was leaving the front desk said breakfast "was over". They had no record of the vouchers. There is a gap in reporting from one shift to another, and do not have well trained staff, including maintenance, and cleaning personnel in matters of privacy. However, the pool looked great and the staff adequately cleaned the room. Because of the pool and the room being clean I give the hotel a poor as opposed to a terrible. I will not be staying at any more Holiday Inns. As well, they should called if they wanted entry while the notice was on the door. I should not have answered the door anyway because of safety issues. I will not make that mistake again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRJINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and being a contributor on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly during your arrival. The inconvenience you experienced during your stay is not acceptable and is something we will address with our engineering and housekeeping team immediately. I apologize that you were not able to experience a relaxing stay.

I appreciate your feedback to our team and hope you will allow us to show you the experience we can offer to our guests. If you would like to join us again, please contact me directly at cpolidori@soundhospitality.com and I will ensure you are taken care.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
Guest Service Manager
HOLIDAY INN CORAL GABLES
1350 S. Dixie Hwy (US1)
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305-667-5611 Ext 7805
Fax: 305-669-3153
cpolidori@soundhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Choose this hotel based on convenience and price, and got as expected. Yes, cheaper hotels are by the airport, but did not want to drive in traffic that frequently. This hotel is an older building so rooms are small and tight, especially the bathroom. Room was adequate and clean but restocked only occasionally during stay. For the price, it satisfied. Suggest requesting backside upstair room away from noisy US 1. The hotel is located across from U of Miami and 15 mins from Miracle Mile in Coral Gables. Free parking is a plus… WIFI shaky.

Room Tip: Suggest requesting backside upstair room away from noisy US 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your recent travels.

I apologize that it appears some of our hotel amenities and services did not meet your expectations during your stay. Every feedback is welcomed and always helps us to make it better next time.

We hope you enjoyed your experience in Coral Gables and will give us another opportunity to show you the service we can offer at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Claudia Polidori
Guest Service Manager
HOLIDAY INN CORAL GABLES
1350 S. Dixie Hwy (US1)
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305-667-5611 Ext 7805
Fax: 305-669-3153
cpolidori@soundhospitality.com
www.hicoralgables.com
www.soundhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

There is a lady her name is Margarita Diaz she is awesome! Best service ever. We are in a meeting at the hotel and she 's been taking care of us, cleaning the service room, coffee, etc. people at front desk are very nice

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay for a visit to the Miami area but specifically if you want to attend athletic events at the University of Miami. We went to the Miami Syracuse University Basket ball game this past week end and had a blast. It is close, clean and has a great staff that attend to your needs. Our room was booked about 3 months in advanced, don't wait until the week before. The rooms showed some aging but were clean and the beds were excellent. The bar is open from 5 to 10 so we relaxed before bedtime. There is a buffet breakfast each morning. It is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Turn the heat or AC on to block the noise of the young athletes that frequent the hotel. I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Property: Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Address: 1350 S Dixie Hwy, Coral Gables, FL 33146-2904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing