We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for week in Miami.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great base for week in Miami.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week to check out the city for a possible move. Overall good choice as a base. The bed was great. Despite it being older room and hotel it was well maintained. The breakfast was not worth entertaining very basic for a holiday inn. Internet worked well. Parking and access was easy. Some great restaurants within walking distance. try mom for great Thai. We went twice. Some great walking around the streets as well. Felt very safe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Newnhamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Newnhamp,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was heading south to the keys and wanted a hotel in route and decided to go with this one, we really liked the location and overall condition of the hotel. There is no free breakfast like most hotels, but I would recommend this hotel to any traveler in the area.

Room Tip: Book with expedia and go to IHOP for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amccarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I recently went to holiday inn, coral gables! It's the worst value for money I have spent on a hotel, the room was dated with poor attempts at up dating! The toilet leaked with each flush. The air con was noisy and as old as my grand parents. Can't believe they can charge 150 dollars plus tax mid week! Just come back from kimpton spa in vero beach, less money and class above this hotel. Holiday inn would be a 1 and kimpton a 50! No comparison!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia_Polidori, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Darren,

I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. Our staff works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has the best stay possible, so it is quite disappointing to know that we've somehow fallen short of that goal.

We have erred, but we are working on correcting these matters, any feedback you may provide based on your experience to better ourselves and our property is always welcomed and taken seriously, the appropriate actions will be taken to correct the issues you addressed. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and hope you give us a second chance to meet your expectations in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Claudia Polidori
(305) 667-5611 Ext 7805
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

...leisure, not so much. Here for a conference a U of Miami and the location in my opinion was the best of any for the attendees if you don't mind a little walking. That being said, Miami "blocks" are like country miles. Great service, clean rooms, good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwesi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times over the last ten years but not recently. They have done a remodel of the lobby area and the pool area always looks inviting. This visit was for business.

I arrived and Janny handled my check in. She apologized and said that there was no room available and I would have to wait 30 minutes. I went to sit in the lobby and less than five minutes later Janny came up and said that she had found a room and I could go to it in five minutes. She also ordered a fruit basket to be delivered to the room. She went above and beyond what she could have done to take care of a customer that had not been to the property in a few years (though I have top elite status for the chain). Rarely (and especially in Miami) do you run into people like Janny who really enjoy their job and want to make customers happy.

Hotel recruiters should take note and I hope the managers recognize an excellent employee when they have one.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTSTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear BTSTP,

Thank your for being a Priority club member and thank your for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us.

It is greatly appreciated when our visitors have enjoyed their experience with us, so much so, that they share this experience with us and other reviewers. We thank you for your valuable feedback and the special mention you have made to a member of our team.

As a club member, your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to that opportunity of serving you once again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I do a lot of business and leisure travel and ended up in Coral Gables for a few days unexpectedly. I didn't want to travel out of Coral Gables or spend a billion dollars at a plush hotel on Key Biscayne or South Beach or Downtown. Also travelling into downtown Coral Gables would have put be farther than I wanted.

The newish Holiday Inn in Coral gables is just great. Very close to UMiami, SouthMiami, with easy access to dowtown Coral Gables, the Grove or the key if you know the roads.

The place was clean, spacious, nice fridge, TV, comfy clean beds, ample desk space. Nice pool, and the restaurant is really not bad at all (Im a food snob!), I ate there twice!

Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neurovictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My best hotel experience ever! I was greeted with the nicest front office manager, named Claudia Polidori. She assisted me with all the questions I had about ordering food to be delivered to the room. She went beyond the call of duty when I asked for some toothpaste (she couldn't find it in one area) so she got a new tube from somewhere, had it delivered to my room and then called to see if I received it. I thought that was so nice I went back down to the lobby to personally thank her. She even went out of her way after our few conversations to invite me to have breakfast on them at their hotel in the morning. Her hospitality and the room made this one of my BEST HOTEL STAYS EVER!!!!
The room definately topped off what I was already amazed with...the rugs were new, shower with Great water pressure(new also),nice balcony,new tv(big and easy to work),and new micro and fridge. The beds were very comfortable! The place made you feel so safe with security keepin an eye on it all. Sleeping well was not hard to come by. The pool area was huge and very well landscaped. Thank you to this property...I look forward to staying again and feeling like royalty. Hopefully you'll keep the rates as decent as they are now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
The Biltmore Hotel
#1 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.5 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Coral Way
Four Points by Sheraton Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway (US 1), Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing