We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 STAR treatment in an affordable Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5 STAR treatment in an affordable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I walked in the front door of this Holiday Inn across from the University of Miami expecting okay treatment for a good price. SURPRISE, the lobby is bright and cheery just like the employees. The employees know how to handle every request with a "can-do" attitude. The rooms are excellent and so many open to a beautifully maintained and landscaped pool area filled with chairs, tables, lots of room to sunbathe or sit comfortably in the shade! Additionally, this hotel has a gift/snack shop, sports bar, beautiful and roomy restaurant all opening to the pool for a nice view.
Finally, the location is walking distance to the University of Miami, great restaurants and shops. Pricila is at the front dest to assure a smooth check in and Margarita is handling the guest experience fabulously!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    187
    125
    53
    36
See reviews for
193
86
48
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is near the University of Miami which makes it an ideal place if you plan to visit the University or Coral Gables. Staff are very friendly and welcoming particularly at the restaurant. Breakfast is varied and quite generous with plenty of fresh and cooked food. I thought the coffee quality was very good.
The best aspect about this hotel for me was the comfort of the bed and pillows, probably one of the best I have experienced. The room has desk space, TV and coffee/tea facilities. Overall the room is well equipped, clean and comfortable. The problem is the thin partitions between the rooms which do not insulate the sound very well. So you will probably hear the conversation next door, so pack some earplugs.
Taxi to airport costs approx. $25 and takes about 30 mins in normal traffic..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khadjri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear khadjri,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the noise caused by the thin walls. We will look into this. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here our last night in Florida to catch our flight n the morning. Our room was like any other hotel room but it had a funny smell. Not sure what they were trying to cover up. Other than that our experience here was good. Great over nighter

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The60secondassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear The60secondassassin,

Thank you for giving us a review on your stay with us! We're sorry you expirienced a foul odor on your room stay, and should you return we will make sure your exirience is odorfree. Thank you for giving us praise on your expirience.

Thank you again,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Check in and out was quick and the staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I had a great nights rest in the beds and they have 2 different types of pillows you can choose from. The pool area is large and we enjoyed a quick dip before bed. I had a non refundable rate and booked direct and had no issues.The parking lot was big and there is no extra fee. I would stay here again. I saw some renovations being done, but I did not hear a peep from anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

What an experience! From the time I arrived at this property until the time I left, my entire experience was excellent! My room was beautiful, overlooking the pool... I had a really good ribeye steak in the restaurant, with flan for my dessert. Check out the picture of the restaurant... the renovations are very nice and this is certainly a place that I will stay... not just on business, but with my family when we come on vacation. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbrahamBelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

There were 4 of us in a 2 bed room which had a microwave, small fridge and a coffee maker. The room was nice sized with a desk and 2 extra chairs. It was one of the remodeled rooms and the bathroom had a good shower and good sized sink. While it was basic Holiday Inn the room was spic and span and the housekeepers did a wonderful job in keeping it that way. It was close enough to walk to a great Jewish deli and a TGIF so you could walk to things. What made this an enjoyable stay was the people who worked there. From the front desk to the housekeepers and the smiling lady in the gift shop, they tried to make our stay as nice as possible!

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard to get a good view from your window or ask for a pool room on the 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciadunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Luciadunn,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are truly delighted the level of service you received from our staff, lived up to your expectations. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel isolation is very poor as you hear all the noises from the corridor. I woke up several times with the feeling that someone was talking inside my bedroom...
The matelas are very poor too at a point it was better to sleep on the floor!
The bathroom is very small too. Only one person at a tme, which is not helping when we have young children to bath...
The employees are very friendly and the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyglobtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear familyglobtrotter,

Thank you for taking your time in writing us a review of your stay at our hotel. It saddens me deeply that you were having issues due to noise in your room and that you were unable to enjoy your stay fully due to this. i noticed you mentioned the size of the bathrooms was an inconvinience for you, a quick solution I must add is perhaps asking for an executive room should you choose our hotel in the future. if not I thank you again for choosing our hotel and wish you many happy travels.

Best,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Property: Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing