We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, relaxing setting for my kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
fort walton beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great staff, relaxing setting for my kids”
Reviewed May 8, 2008

After driving 10 hours by myself with 2 kids to see my Grandma in nearby South Miami Hospital, I was greated by an angel at the front desk. Apparently the reservation I made did not specify "non smoking." With little kids with me, this was very important. I explained our story and apologized for my overtired face. She was so kind, found a perfect room near the pool so that the children could unwind after driving and sitting at the hospital. It made all the difference to have a room close by, when one had to use the restroom and another was still swimming. Traveling alone with 2 children is hard, Althea at the front desk made it easier and with a smile. The kids loved the breakfast buffet and the ability to walk not just to that restaurant, but nearby Friday's was a bonus. Also, the proximity to the metrorail is a big plus. My mother in law does not own a car in the city and takes mass transit. She was able to pop in and visit easily on the train and even take the kids with her to a festival downtown without the hassle of driving in traffic.T he hotel has areas that are run down and some doors have paint peeling, but the location is fantastic and although old, it was very clean. It looks like they are still renovating so I would definitely stay there again.

Thank you again, Althea at the Front Desk!!

  • Liked — Location and friendly front desk staff
  • Disliked — questioned security of back door to building.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbfortwaltonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    192
    128
    54
    36
See reviews for
198
90
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Took a trip to University of Miami with 17 year old daughter. Location of Holiday Inn is super convenient. Wasn't expecting too much for the $149 price tag.. Lobby and common areas were very nice including the pool. Breakfast buffet was not that great. Food was edible and coffee was good. We stayed on the third floor. Elevators were quick and efficient. Front desk was very helpful with taxis and recommendations. But beware of rooms.

Room wasn't ready at 3:00 check in but we only waited 15 minutes or so. (we had checked in at 10:30am and then came back at 3:00) Room was in desparate need of renovation. Carpet was stained. You couldn't close the room darkening drapes, just the sheers (made that way not broken). This is ok on third floor. Bathroom was the worst part. Shower curtain was mildewed, Sink was slow to drain. Seemed clean but not cared for. We were there for one night so I didn't bother to change. Woke up in the morning and the half the floor was soaked from rain getting in the window. Luckily nothing of mine was near and I was leaving by 8:30 am anyway.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank stasiakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Colony Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My husband, sister & I stayed at this hotel in December, 2007, right after Christmas. We had two rooms, both facing the pool with a nice balcony. The rooms are very clean and they are in the process of updating this hotel which is older but has beautiful architecture. The pool area has lush tropical landscaping and the water is sparkling clean.
We were pleasantly surprised by the attitude of all of the help from LaToya at the front desk to Willy, our bartender/waiter. We sat outside for dinner as the weather was balmy (in December!) We ordered potato pancackes which were made from scratch by Juan, the chef, and they were heavenly! We had a second order they were so good. There is a TGIF's a block down and several other restaurants within walkiing distance plus shopping galore! We have already booked to stay here again in January when we are in the Miami area.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This is an older property with an outdoor pool just across University of Miami. The hotel is clean and convenient if you visit U of M. Metrorail stop is 200 yards from the hotel. There are plenty of food establishments close to the hotel, J&J Diner was our favorite.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank DeeplyFrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We stayed at this location for a wedding and found the property to be quite old considering we paid considerably to stay there. The room was clean. However, we were situated on the third floor - far away from the elevator or stays. The pool was great. The restaurant buffet was overpriced. I think you may be able to find a better hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2007

My son, nephew, and I stayed during the football camp in the summer. Itt is very coveniently located to food and football. We could have walked to UM across the road. Nice after a hard days practice to come back to a cool, clean, room with a pool view!

  • Liked — Convenient to UM.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sumtercane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

My sister and I stayed two nights here while visiting UMiami. On the second day, we returned to our room and found a paper towel smeared with fecal matter lying on the bathroom sink right next to our toothbrushes and retainers. The general manager (Derek McCeleroy) refused to reverse the charges on my credit card, which is the least that I felt I deserved to compensate me for this trouble. He never returned my phone calls about the matter, and it's been a month and the situation is still not resolved. You'll do yourself a service by avoiding this hotel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank toberndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
508 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Property: Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146-2904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing