We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh--I Hate This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Coral Gables
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Where do I start? The stained carpets, the crumbs/sand (?) in my sheets and bathtub, the lousy Wifi, the indifferent service, the terrible yet pricey food in the restaurant, the location next to a busy expressway...? You get the picture.

This place isn't exactly cheap, either.

I may have to return to U of Miami for business again, and if I do, it will be on the condition that they do NOT put me here!

Oh--the weather WAS fabulous, but I'm pretty sure they don't get credit for that.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank leftydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear leftydana,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry that our hotel fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 621 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Maid Margarita Caso was wonderful with us, very very kind. The room service and Front Desk was excellent. I recommend this hotel only for its service. The balcony was dirty and the emergency exit stairs not so clean at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Eric M,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. It's always a pleasure to hear our staff go above and beyond to make our guest stay a pleasant one. However, we regret that you were not satisfied with the level of cleanliness at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I hope we get the opportunity to show you some of our improvements on your next trip to Coral Gables, FL.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel wasn't our best experience. Everything is old, needs a lot of reno. Some rooms on our floor were undergoing renos but we had to endure the noise and the mess. You're charged for wi-fi but there is not hope to get a connection either from the room or from the lobby. Beds were comfy and there was a choice of pillows but the quality of sleep was poor anyway because of the noise: insulation is poor and you hear your neighbors walking and talking. Plus the maids in the morning made such incredible noise that we felt like we were at a market, not a hotel. They would literally shout to each other from one side of the hallway to the other, and laugh, and what sounded like - play and chase each other. We complained twice but without change. We stayed three nights and didn't get any sleep in the morning.
The quality of cleaning was also a concern: our room was only half done. One of the two beds remained in disarray and we had no towels whatsoever.
The only good thing is the hotel's location: close to the metrorail, 4 stations from downtown Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xroust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Xroust,

Our deepest apologies on your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay. Its very disheartening to hear that on your 3 night stay with us that you did not receive any sleep on any night due to noise. Please be assured that we will address the issue with management and review it to find a solution in order to prevent this from ever occurring again in the future.

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and we hope that this negative experience has not changed your opinion on our brand. Should you consider our hotel once again in the future, we will see to it that your experience will be the comfortable and relaxing stay it should be.

Thank you again,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Large room, small bathroom. Very low bathroom counter. Room overlooked a lovely pool, patio. We liked the restaurant quality; I take my own breakfast when I travel, so not having it included with the room rate was okay. In general, we really liked the feel/finish of this place. The lobby was spacious, staff were gracious, finishes very nice (though in process of some remodeling).Would definitely recommend this one.

Room Tip: We liked looking over the pool, but don't recall the room number; on the 2nd floor, I believe, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear travelorWAstate,

Thank you for review on your recent stay with us! We are happy that we provided you with an great experience and appreciate your kind comments on out hotel staff and our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Thank you again,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

this I a resort style hotel which is very well cared for. I think it might be slightly older but there is a strong feeling that the staff are interested - and will go beyond where they must to improve your experience. Yonne, the manager in particular was very helpful.

Room Tip: be near the pool - its not rowdy and its nice to just walk out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear goreymanBermuda,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! I'm so happy I was able to help you enjoy your stay in our hotel and that our staff was able to create that great hotel experience for you as well. We look forward to helping you again in the future should you visit us once again, and please feel free to reach me on any requests you may have.

Thanks once again,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is under renovation, be sure you get an updated room on the third floor. When we checked in they put us in a room on the first floor where there was a strong smell of something dead in the bathroom and an unacceptable shower head. We fussed and they moved us to a great room on the third floor and threw in a free breakfast as well. Our new room had a mini-fridge and microwave and is clean and pleasant. The pool area is very nice, they have a beauty salon and a gift shop as well as the restaurant. Parking is free and it is convenient to Biscayne, coconut grove and the university. We will stay here again next time we're in town.

Room Tip: ask for updated room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear drwendy,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Although you had some problems at the beginning, I'm happy to hear that we were able to make it right with you at the end. In the future please feel free to reach us personally on how we can make your next stay with a wonderful experience.

Many Thanks,
Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We made a quick stop here one night while passing through Miami. We actually made reservations here by mistake as we thought we were going to be somewhere else. However, it turned out to be a nice stay. We didn't smell anything like some of the other reviews stated so maybe this was cleared up.

Pros
Free parking (you can get hit on this in the city)
Spacious rooms
Clean
Comfortable beds
Pool (looked nice, but we didn't get to use it)

Cons
Busy area (isn't all of Miami)
No free breakfast
Expensive onsite shop

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinstonBub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonne M, Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear WinstonBub,

Thank you for staying with our hotel and taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay! We hope on your next trip to Miami you remember us and consider us again.

Kindly,

Yonne Mendez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 12 in Coral Gables
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 12 in Coral Gables
528 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146-2904
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range: $97 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing