We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "Grande Dame" That is Not Aging Well” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
310 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A "Grande Dame" That is Not Aging Well”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables, Florida, is one of a handful of “Grande Dame” hotels from a golden age that saw the construction of the Waldorf Astoria, The Park Plaza, The Broadmoor and a few other great, classic American hotels. And while the Grande Dame is still a classy broad, she is definitely showing her age. Make no mistake, she is still the elegant old antithesis to all the glitzy, glaring, almost naked, in-your-face glam of Miami. Nestled among the fairways, banyan trees, and stately homes of Coral Gables, she’s a haven for the old money and blue hair that eschews the South Beach scene. Grand architecture, soaring lobby ceilings, a giant pool that was the largest hotel pool in America generations before “water features” became hip – the Biltmore harks back to the age of Flagler and other railroad barons. Her lines are distinctive, her rooms and spaces elegant, her grounds lush, and her staff impeccable.

But there’s a good deal of upkeep and modernization that has not happened here over the years, and it shows. From simple things, like elevator casings and hallway kickboards that have been painted over so many times that they appear coral encrusted, to more subtle neglects like stair treads that are wiggling loose under the thick carpet runners, to dark spaces that might have suited a different age but today need serious lightening up – the feeling is often of a dowager in neglect. Most of the Biltmore’s contemporaries have kept their five-star ratings through careful and attentive updating, but there’s little evidence of that here. The signature Italian and French restaurants, as well as the hotel bar, are in the ground floor “dungeon” area and are very dark, heavy affairs with low lights and no views – clearly designs out of the 1960s that are in serious need of updates. With the surrounding pool and golf course, these should open to beautiful natural lighting and stunning views, but no such reinvention has happened. Even the sleeping rooms, though generally well appointed and comfortable in size, haven’t been brought up to modern standards. Simple things like a coffee maker in the room and a nicely sized soaking tub rather than a suburban, el-cheapo bathtub need to be considered. The in-room artwork, reproductions of old sepia toned maps, needs to go and someone needs to introduce some light and color and brightness to the accommodations – everything is just so very beige. The too-beige area carpet in my room was literally threadbare. It needs to be said that an updated toilet and a few more amenities in the bathroom would also not go amiss. And mechanical systems – the noises coming out of my air conditioning system were an awful distraction.

While I enjoyed my stay well enough, mostly for the opportunity to be somewhere serene and away from the Miami Hustle, in fairness people expect more for $400 a night and up. The Biltmore needs a major infusion of cash and a serious renovation throughout.

And what's up with the stupid dogs-in-sneakers statues out front? Everyone in our group was looking for an explanation and none of the staff could offer one.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor rooms as the elevators don't all go there. Events in the outdoor events area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for visiting and sharing your feedback with us. Your suggestions for upgrades and changes are well taken. While some ideas, including anything that would alter the exterior appearance of the National Historic Landmark are not options we can even consider, we are actively in the process of completely changing the lighting of the entire ground floor. Wall finishes and furniture will be replaced before summer. The same is true for the upper lobby. We are also working with designers and architects on finalizing a complete rooms renovation program, to be launched later this year.
The dogs-in-sneakers statues are part of a larger initiative known as the REgeneration Art Project, which places big, bright animal installations in unexpected locations across the globe, including Rome, Venice, Prague, Milan and Paris. The installations are created by Cracking Art Group and coordinated by Galleria Ca’ d’Oro, a Coral Gables gallery. The installations are temporary and we find that they always create discussion and interaction. We regret that they did not appeal to you.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    419
    175
    82
    44
See reviews for
471
544
60
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Biltmore this past weekend for our annual office Strategic Planning Meeting. What a great choice. Every meal we had was delicious, especially our dinner at Palme D'Or. Every interaction with the hotel was 5 star customer service. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. All of us were quite impressed. Special thanks to Viviana for coordinating everything for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for spending the weekend with us and for taking the time to share your experiences. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of our great food & beverage offerings and will make sure to recognize Viviana for her efforts to create a memorable experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Biltmore is a fabulous property with lovely rooms, fine restaurants, great spa treatments, and caring staff.
The buildings are old and could use a facelift to enhance their innate beauty..some areas are in need of renovation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickieelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

we greatly appreciate you staying with us and for giving us your observations. We will continue to maintain and upgrade our facilities in line with our luxury operations. Currently, the upper and lower lobbies are receiving new lighting designs, the driveway canopies are being replaced and soft goods are being updated. We look forward to your next visit, showing off our new look!

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Snowmageddon in NY prevented my return, so an editor friend rescued me after the Westin said they had no rooms available for me even though my flight back home was canceled and I hosted a meeting for 80 people. I was booked into the Biltmore tower, and it was perfection. Reminded me of Brentwood, CA.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDavid212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to read that we were able assist you with your accommodations during this difficult travel time. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with the planning of your next group event in Miami.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

A historic beautiful hotel with great amenities. We were only in for one night to do some business and chose the Biltmore as we have been there for dinner before and enjoyed it. The staff is superb and we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the golf course. (Amex). The room was very nice and big, fruit and wine in the room (Amex). There was some noise from a kitchen exhaust fan a few floors below, possibly some storm windows in the bedroom window would cure that. we must return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaeli01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your business and the review. My apologies for the noise intrusion. We will use your feedback in finding a solution. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel that gives you a taste of 1920's/30's South Florida glamour. The Spanish colonial details throughout - from the lobby, to the pool area, to the restaurants and golf course - are really stunning. I can't stress the beauty of the pool area enough. It is definitely the largest pool I have ever been in (I believe it is one of the largest in the United States), and the architecture and landscaping are beautiful. The staff at the pool area is also very attentive with bringing you food, drinks, and towels.

The rooms themselves are perhaps a little in need of an upgrade, but are still very well-appointed and comfortable. I had no complaints about cleanliness or anything being restocked.

The nature of the hotel as one of the largest and most beautiful event spaces in Miami means it can get a little crowded on weekends - and on Friday and Saturday night you can hear the music from the event halls - but this bothered me more in common areas than in the room.

Overall, this is a good alternative to the sleek, modern Miami Beach and Brickell hotels that offers a little bit of old-world charm. Great for a staycation or for out-of-towners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markk612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your passion for the architecture and history of our iconic hotel. We make every effort to control noise bleed from any functions interfering with other spaces and will use your feedback to keep us focused on these efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your observations.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lovely architecture and historically interesting. Rooms small by US standards although compared to Europe - ok.

The highlight of my stay was the Concierge Service. He couldn't do enough.
All staff there excellent. The reception staff very nice also.

Their prices were leading hotel though.. And without Breakfast. and when asked for a local adaptor suggested I buy one in their gift shop. Every 3, 4 or 5 star hotel around the world has a supply of adaptors for visitors. But not the Biltmore.

I believe if one wanted to play golf its good. But please, catch up with services offered in similar star hotels. There is another world outside US. By the way, some locals, whom I spoke to, thought the Biltmore was the business. They should travel a bit more. 8 dollars for a bottle of water in room,. Usually water supplied in Leading Hotels. at least one litre per person per day.

when I mark service below mean the staff. The service by staff was excellent

Room Tip: its in a quiet residential area. But avoid near the outside Fountain as it can be noisy according to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathT272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. Your points about electric adapters and bottled water are well taken and we will review them with our leadership team as part of our ongoing efforts to maintain and strengthen our high standards of service and offerings. We hope to be able to host you once again during your next visit to Coral Gables.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing