We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We've stayed several times at the Biltmore in Coral Gables. From the minute you enter the door, you feel special. It's like you've stepped back to the era of grand old hotels. Even if you don't stay overnight, go walk around the hotel and grounds. The pool area is beautiful and you even can rent private poolside cabanas. The spa was a nice experience, too, but a bit pricey as most hotel spas are. Lastly, the old pictures that line the walls of the hotel's hallways show its star-studded history - really a cool place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your loyalty and for sharing your experiences with us. I am delighted to read that we met your expectations and my staff and I are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    359
    154
    74
    38
See reviews for
404
486
54
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful elegant historic hotel...lovely grounds, beautiful public rooms, grand pool with outdoor dining, golf course... a perfect wedding venue. Time however to spruce up the furniture in the guest rooms (chips in end tables, drab worn out upholstery and just because you put a love seat in a room does not make it a suite (junior or otherwise).
The Sunday brunch was superb but a bit pricey.
The staff is great and rates an excellent review. Tipping is a bit confusing since they do add an extra charge to your bill for tips but then say you still might want to tip additionally for service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your observations. My apologies for the lack of attention to room maintenance. We will use your feedback to initiate improvements. We also have recently removed the automatic gratuities from restaurant checks and apologize for any confusion this may have caused.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I am a local, and did not stay at the hotel, but instead went to their famous Sunday brunch. My friend and I went into it thinking it was just a little pricey, but by the end we left feeling like it was money very well spent. For the amount of incredible food you have unlimited access to, as well as the bottomless champagne, I could not recommend this brunch any more highly. Perfect for visitors as well as locals. After brunch, we got a few more drinks at the bar by the pool. Everyone there was super friendly, especially Juan and Robert. Overall, I could not have been more satisfied, and am looking forward to making brunch there a regular event!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and for introducing your friend to our famous Sunday Brunch. We will make sure to recognize Juan and Robert for their memorable service. Please let us know if we can assist you with your next reservation.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
framingham, ma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice but in my humble opinion not worth the price. We had a junior suite and the furniture, specifically the sofa was simply tired looking. Not dirty but not fresh looking. You'd think for the high price you'd get more than basic amenities. That said, the staff was great and very helpful. And the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlinkeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for selecting The Biltmore for your recent visit to Coral Gables. I regret to see that our product/price ratio did not meet your expectations. We will review your experience more closely with our housekeeping and facilities teams in order to make improvements.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our second stay at the Biltmore while visiting our daughter. This has everything. An amazing lobby greets you. Ample parking. Several wonderful places to eat. Nice bars. First class service. Everyone that works here is just so nice.
The best word to describe the hotel is ....atmosphere. Lots of it.
We had a junior suite. Very comfortable. I agree with the reviewer who noted the lack of outlets for cell phones, tablets, etc., but this is a very old property.
The king size bed was very comfortable, as were the sofa and chair. They provide slippers, robes, plenty of closet space. Our room had a superb view of the pool. The pool here defies description and must be seen to be believed.
Paper delivered daily. Turn down service in the afternoon with chocolates.
It is true that it is a short drive to restaurants and shops, except those in the hotel. The hotel, however, has a complimentary drop off and pick up for guests going out in Coral Gables. And the resort fees include tips for the bellman and valets.
My wife and I go to Miami at least twice a year. This is the nicest place to stay, and is among our favorites anywhere. We will be returning in March.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us again while visiting your daughter. We are excited that the collective team effort by our staff members resulted in a terrific vacation experience for you and hope that you will be visiting many more times. Please let us know if we can assist you with your March reservations.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was recently at the Biltmore for a 3 day conference and must say that I was completely let down by the experience. The hotel is is desperate need of a full renovation as it feels very old and dusty. My room was old looking, the furniture was nicked, the hot water and water pressure in the shower came and went depending on how many people in the hotel were showering at that moment and the walls are paper thin so you could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next door. The bathroom was so old and rickety that one day as I was showering the shower head flew off and hit me in the head, spraying water everywhere. In addition, the hotel, is in Coral Gables (nowhere near a beach), so it is sort of remote and isolated since its on a golf course/estate and you cannot walk anywhere. All in all, it was a terrible experience and I would never return here. There are SO many magnificent hotels in Miami, I don't understand why anyone would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

we appreciate you visiting The Biltmore in Coral Gables and are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are proud of our history and the dedicated service of our staff and will use your observations in our ongoing plans for overall improvements.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Beautiful towered building with an incredible pool, amazing lobby (soaring vaulted painted ceiling), many nice restaurants, and grounds with attractive fountains, golf, tennis, and ample parking. The staff was universally friendly and will give you an orientation when you arrive. The hallways are decorated with large 1930s vintage photos of famous golfers and others during the Biltmore’s heyday. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, including the guest rooms. We enjoyed every meal at the hotel - from pool-side sandwiches to the breakfast buffet around the central fountain courtyard.

We had a junior suite - an excellent room that was clean, quiet, and attractively tiled throughout. Two big windows overlooked the golf course and Coral Gables. The bed was comfortable and had a painted headboard. In the room there was a couch, rug, coffee table, and a floor-to-ceiling dresser/desk/entertainment combo piece with a TV on each side (more on these below). The room had plenty of lamps with 3-way bulbs that were bright enough for reading on the highest setting. The room featured just about everything: 2 luggage racks, robes, slippers, extra pillows, real wooden hangers, iron & board, hairdryer, room safe, and settable thermostat. In addition to the painted headboard and tiling, room decorations were framed photos of fountains, and a large vintage map. The bathroom had plenty of towels and toiletries. The newspaper (Sunday Miami Herald, USA Today otherwise) was hung on the door daily. There was a turn-down service (with chocolates left of the pillow) in the afternoon.

The negatives were few: the two flat screen TVs (about 24” each) were the same model, and thus each remote interfered with the other (IR signals bounce around the room). The on/off signal is a toggle. I was watching a late football game on mute from the couch, and when I turned that TV off, the bed-facing TV turned on and started blaring - waking up my wife from a sound sleep. Not a good set-up. I figured out a work-around which was to find the manual on/off switch (hidden at the lower right side) and use that instead of the remote. On the topic of electrical stuff: there was only one outlet (by the desk) where one could plug in a charger/laptop/etc. Otherwise, you have to use the bathroom sink outlet, or start moving furniture and unplugging lamps, etc. Another somewhat negative was that the shower water pressure was just ok. The hotel is in a well established, pretty, residential neighborhood, but you'll need to drive to get anywhere for shops and restaurants (except for those part of the hotel itself).

One weird note: There was the usual over-priced in-room candy and snack tray prominently displayed at eye-level by the bedroom TV. The whole thing was an easily movable leather tray. We didn’t want to have that stuff staring at us the whole time, so we called and ask that it be removed, but we were told that they would charge us for doing that. Bizarre! So I just covered it with a towel. Problem solved, but not in-keeping with the rest of our experience.

Overall a great hotel that we would visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lectus_prandiumque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations at so many levels and apologize for the inconvenience the dual TV system and the water pressure have caused you. Both issues have been reviewed by our facilities team and been corrected. We will also work with our room service staff to ensure we handle special requests with more customer orientation. My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Matthias Kammerer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing