We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel, nice an quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice an quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Biltmore on business. it was a beautiful hotel and very close to the Airport. the restaurants were very nice however I did find the drinks very pricey. The grounds were magnificent and well cared for.

My room was very comfortable. I loved the Spanish tile in the bathroom. Beds were very comfortable and the turn down service was a nice touch. I would love to go back !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to The Biltmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    392
    166
    80
    40
See reviews for
442
515
56
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

When I booked my stay at the Biltmore, my expectations were high as the hotel and reputation allows for. The first impression was a bad one. Although I paid a supplement to have a room with view on the golf green, I got one with view on the back garbage of the kitchen, plus 2 big aircos so noisy that I couldn't sleep. In such an hotel, you couldn't even imagine that such rooms do exist. But... the reception desk did the best to move me in another room so that I got another one the second day. Here the feeling was very different with a nice room and view on both the golf and the swimming pool.

My second and biggest disappointment came from the swimming pool. The biggest in Florida for sure, but the smallest area for transats and the worst service ever. A 3.00 PM, no transats and no towels anymore. Fresh towels did arrive at 5.00 PM. In the meantime, a real chaos of transats and durty towels everywhere. The following day, being at the swimming pool at 8.30PM, no towels yet. I -and many other people- had to wait 30 minutes before the first towels were available.
I have seen several other reviews pointing out the same issues, with a comment from the GM telling that it was a busy week-end. So what ? Never heard about planning and anticipation, Sir? This is the basis of good management. I have been in many bigger hotels in my life, and never saw such a disorganized and badly managed swimming pool.
Now, this is a real pity as the Biltmore is a nice hotel with unbelievable architecture and history, and superb service (top rating for the outstanding reception, concierge and valet service). But small details make big differences, high time to seriously re-think the organization and staff of the swimming pool to move from good to great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We regret that your stay failed to meet your expectations with regards to service at the pool: we are reviewing the staffing levels and operating hours of the pool and supporting departments in order to meet guest expectations. We are also increasing staff training hours in order to improve customer service and special request handling. We appreciate the time you took to share these concerns. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is truly a grand hotel from the past where a renovation preserved the historical atmosphere of the early 1900's. I believe it was a veterans' hospital before the city purchased and is managed by a private investor.
It is primarily a conference and wedding venue with at least 3 weddings on my recent weekend and lots of merry noise near our room. The other hotel guests were 90% from abroad.

Our room was the big disappointment and we had an "upgrade" to a suite. It was tiny! Also the sofa had a large stain going down one cushion of wine? or blood? They were totally booked our weekend so no room change possible. We had to ask for our towels to be changed and the room was not cleaned by staff. I think this was because room cleaning is only offered in the a.m. and we were late risers.

But on to the excellent part.....the food. It was grand hotel food so rare today in a hotel. There were fresh baked breads and delicious pastries, I recommend the breakfast buffet. I was impressed by the small things in the dining room....real European-style butter from VT Butter and Cheese, genuine VT maple syrup, fantastic smoked bacon and an outstanding gruyere cheese omelette and of course excellent service ( all guests pay a 18% gratuity on food and separate resort fee daily. i We could not get a reservation to the new highly acclaimed French restaurant complete with famous French chef. It is considered one of Miami's finest dining experiences. So if you stay here reserve before your visit.

I would say the wait and guest staff to be above average. When in Miami again I would stay at another hotel and eat here when possible because of room size and hotel too busy with big events.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susieflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are appreciative of your sincere feedback and will certainly address the related issues with our Housekeeping Department. In regard to accommodations, the majority of our rooms are spacious and well appointed; however, as is common with historically designated properties, there are a handful of rooms that are undersized, and if we are fully complete, we cannot move guests to larger accommodations, but we did address appropriate concessions with guests who were affected. We would welcome an opportunity to personally address these issues with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just had a wonderful weekend at The Biltmore. It was like staying in a museum: just gorgeous lobbies, antique Spanish tiles, fountains, gardens, patios and columns... and of course, that pool! The service is subtle and excellent. Our small dog was welcome, too. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, The Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

After 24 years of visiting and travelling across Florida we came across the Biltmore. An old grand hotel with design and features that cannot be replicated today. Magnificent Venetian swimming pool - as large and imposing as I have ever seen. The service we received matched the surroundings - first class. Great restaurants that serve excellent food - not cheap,but fair given the quality. Fantastic fitness facilities and original 1926 golf course.
The staff consistently left you feeling that you where a special person. All of my family - wife, two teenage girls and Grandma loved this hotel. I honestly cannot fault our experience and I am already recommending it to people. We will return as these imposing hotels are few and far flung. We paid the same to stay here as we did to stay at a very good Hampton Inn in the Keys. Go back in time and spoil yourself. Sunday Brunch is apparently nationally renowned - we missed it but would have gone for the five courses! You must book this in advance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as we pride itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of the hotel's luxury status. The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property, known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable - please do come back to experience our Sunday Champagne Brunch during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am at the Biltmore as I write. I arrived with my family coming from a long trip. Got to the hotel at around 2 PM. Check-in is at 3 PM. We have been waiting for our room. Waiting. Waiting. 3 pm was over 1 hour ago. Kids have been wanting to go to the pool and we keep on waiting. It's another 15 minutes. Another 15. Now it's another 10. No, now is 2 minutes. And here we are, waiting at the lobby. 5 stars??? It's a joke, right?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback and regret that our check-in service did not completely meet your expectations. The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status. We have dealt with the particular personnel involved and are confident that the issues have been effectively resolved to prevent future occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a lovely experience to stay at the Biltmore! The service is top drawer and seamless in the staff's desire to please. Rooms are updated and comfortable. Be sure to eat in the beautiful
Fontana Resturant for breakfast. Varied menu in an atmosphere so restful with it's courtyard and flowing fountain. The pool is overlooked by the beautiful architecture of days gone by. Please be advise the wireless is very slow, but it in bodies past times. Great golf course!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amgardenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are very appreciative of this feedback, as The Biltmore prides itself on an outstanding service culture worthy of its luxury status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing