We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We felt as though we had stepped back in time. We always tey to stay at these beautiful old hotels. I hope they never go away. We love the traditions. High tea, masculine lounges and beautiful pools. This place had it all. Even an aviary. Very special!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbjeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
As a world-class luxury destination resort, the Biltmore enjoys a stellar reputation for professionalism, services and quality of product within the industry. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    359
    154
    74
    38
See reviews for
404
485
54
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RepYoCity
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This Historical Treasure is absolutely beautiful and the services they render are A + mazing! What a time my wife and I had swimming in America's largest heated pool. The grounds are well kept and have sparkling emerald greenery. Historic 1920 photos line the hallways on each floor and the urban legend is that the hotel is haunted. This possibly could be true as Al Capone, the most notorious gangster in American History frequented this fine establishment quite often in his day. There was a murder on the 13 floor in 1929 that to date is still unsolved. Ghost or no ghost this lovely four star elegant hotel in the gorgeous Coral Gables Community truly should not scare anyone away. I'd personally recommend this very fine place for all to see.

Room Tip: Request rooms with a balconies for a superfantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRYAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are very appreciative of your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your future return visits to the Biltmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Biltmore is architecturally a historical treasure. From the moment you drive up to the hotel you feel as though you have been transported back to the early 1900s. The inside of the lobby is incredibly beautiful and gives you the feel of a Newport Mansion. I found the staff to be helpful and professional. We were supposed to have a suite, but they modified our reservation to be two adjoining rooms, which worked out nice. The rooms are a decent size. The bathroom sinks and the closests are a bit small. The pool has to be the largest that I have ever seen. We had dinner at their Fontana resturant with delicious Italian food. The brunch on Sunday is quite an experience, but arrive hungry. While you are in the Coral Gables area go and visit CocoWalk. I would also highl recommend going to visit Vizcaya which is about 20 minutes away. Beautiful hotel for a weekend stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristinmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to hear from guests who have such a special connection with the Biltmore, as all of us here do. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wanted to stay at Biltmore for years but something always came up. Finally, I booked the Jr. Suite (room 711) and stayed 1 night. The hotel is a beautiful hotel but in our room - the sink hot water faucet leaked; the tub was de-laminating ie pealing, room had a somewhat musty smell and the position of the AC vent kept 1/2 of the room cool, the other half not so much. Also bugs in the bathroom. A full ice bucket in the room was a nice touch. Then the actual service - when checking in, pulled up to the front & had to run out and move the car while checking in -- where was the bellman? Then, never asked for a choice of paper? And when the paper delivered at 5:30AM, had to listen to the 20 "thumps" on the carpet as it was thrown down along the hallway. The noise loud enough to wake both my husband and I. Pool is beautiful, Grounds are beautiful. But when I asked at the fitness center, where to change for the pool - she told me to "go change in the restroom by the pool". It was only after I questioned her more that she told me I could change in the fitness center and use the locker rooms -- by the way the fitness center is RIGHT off the pool. Why didn't she suggest this first? In the morning several guests wandering around looking for coffee -- for a hotel of this caliper, you shouldn't have to fight for a morning cup of coffee. Like I said, Hotel could be great - but the level of service and attention to detail just is not there. For example, I'm in a jr. suite, with a king bed, 2 people -- but only one set of slippers left by the bed. And then the survey was emailed where I filled in these comments as I would have preferred to not post this on trip advisor -- but the survey won't accept my comments unless I answer the other 20+ questions! So, now I am posting these comments on trip advisor. Again, hotel with beautiful grounds and pool -- but service and attention to detail is just not there. Could be great but ....

Room Tip: Not room 711 - great view but faucet leaks, tub de-laminating and bugs in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giget1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
706 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Biltmore Hotel is the centerpiece of timeless Coral Gables. The rest of metro Miami changes at warp speed yet Coral Gables remains a beautiful city set in a lush subtropical landscape. Having grown up in the area, I had never set foot in the Biltmore until this summer, when we stayed for three nights in a lovely room looking north over the Gables. Historic photographs line the halls illustrating the Biltmore's 85 years. Friendly service was excellent and the restaurants and pool are highlights of our visit. Prices are quite moderate in the summer, when Miami heat and humidity are high. Beware the $20 per night "resort fee" added to the regular rate. But one look at the pool (the world's largest heated pool, according to someone I talked to) surrounded by glorious Spanish architecture, classic sculptures, and tropical vegetation, and you think that it is worth it. Do yourself a favor, stay at the Biltmore, an historic resort that is unlike any other.

Room Tip: Free self-parking is close by and tips are included in the resort fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPBurdell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We closely monitor the quality of our services and product to assure they are consistent with a world-class luxury resort. This positive feedback is most appreciated! Regarding the resort fee, please know that it is for the convenience of our guests, and includes charges for special services not included in room rate, such as: in-room high speed internet, maid service gratuities, daily admission to the Biltmore Fitness Center, guest's choice of daily newspaper, unlimited local calls, long distance access on credit card and outbound collect calls, bellman gratuities for arrivals and departures, town car service throughout Coral Gables and automobile self-parking. Resort fees are standard charges at all hotels throughout South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spent one night in May at the Biltmore, as I did a few times since 1990, before I flew back to Europe after spending great holidays in Florida. The rooms are very nice and the hotel in short distance to the aiport and it has a large pool where you can relax.
The surprise came when I checked my credit card balance.
Even though I paid my breakfast in cash when checking out, as I had a prepaid voucher for the room, they charged my credit card with 100.62 USD. I tried to call there accounting department a few times to find out why my credit card was charged and I left messages on there phone answering machine to call me back but nobody called me back. Afterwards I tried to cancel the payment by the credit card company. Now Ms Graulich sent a "facked" Minibar bill listenig a number of drinks to the credi!t card provider. In reality we did not use the Minibar as we arrived quite late and went afterwards for dinner to a very nice Restaurant at Miracle Mile, which was recomended by their concierge two years ago, and had breakfast in the next morning before leaving.
I have to say that I am very disappointed by this behaviour after speding quite some nights in the Biltmore and recomending it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Portoroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We welcome constructive feedback from all of our guests as an integral part of monitoring services and performance throughout the resort. It’s our desire to ensure every guest experience is both exceptional and memorable. We would like to apologize for the miscommunication and for the untimely follow-up with you. We would also like to assure you that we would not issue any type of false invoice for any charges, mini-bar or otherwise. As a courtesy, we will review the mini-bar charge and take corrective action where necessary. We appreciate the time you took to share these concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Historic hotel with an incredible pool and grounds. If you come you can not miss the Sunday Brunch which is one of the best in Miami. The wine bar has a very large selection and is extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCoralGables, Managing Director at The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
The Biltmore is a designated National Historic Landmark property known for its rustic Mediterranean charm, which is usually warmly embraced by our guests. Our Sunday Champagne Brunch has been rate #1 in Miami for several years running. We’re delighted your stay with us was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables

Property: The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables
Address: 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#1 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#2 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graced with effortless beauty and sophistication, The Biltmore Hotel is a national historic landmark located in the exclusive Coral Gables area with close proximity to Miami Beach and downtown Miami. The 273-room resort resembles classic Italian, Moorish, and Spanish architectural influences spread over 150-acres of tropical landscape. A favorite of world leaders and celebrities since its opening in 1926, the hotel offers a restored Donald Ross 18-hole, 71 par championship golf course, tennis courts, the largest hotel pool on the East Coast of the United States with private cabanas, a European spa, and an award-winning fitness center. The hotel's dining destinations include the award winning Palme d'Or, recognized by Zagat as one of the best restaurants in the country; Fontana, a traditional Italian restaurant surrounding The Biltmore courtyard and fountain; the poolside Cascade and the 19th Hole Golf restaurant. The hotel also recently unveiled its culinary academy offering an array of hands-on cooking classes for adults and children. The Biltmore is one of South Florida's preferred sites for leisure and business travel, high-level corporate briefings, public policy conferences, and an extraordinary wedding destination. The Biltmore is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Biltmore Hotel Miami Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Coral Gables
Biltmore Coral Gables

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing